Note that not all of our maps are in Compass.
Use similar techniques to search WorldCat (a catalog of the holdings of most major libraries in the U.S.), HathiTrust (great for federal government publications and materials published before 1923), and the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (for Federal government publications after 1976; use advanced search).
To find sheet maps and atlases in our catalog, Compass, do an advanced search, limiting to "Material Type" = "Maps".
To find books on a topic of interest, e.g. Maine, that have maps in them such as histories, travelogues, travel guides, and other materials presumably presenting a spatial perspective, keyword search in Compass as follows:
maine AND (map OR maps OR atlas*)
Since results will include materials about maps as well materials that include maps, look especially at records having map (maps) or atlas (atlases) in the Format field of the full record display.
To find books about maps and a topic of interest, e.g. Maine, subject search in Compass as follows:
maine AND (map OR maps OR atlas*)
To find books about travel, subject search in Compass as follows:
japan AND (travel*)
Sheet maps in Bowdoin College Library are held in the collections listed below. Note that not all of our maps are in Compass.
The following major sheet map series are held in the small Maps Collection in H-L Library. (The Maps Collection is on the lower level near the microforms.)
Some folded sheet maps are in the Government Documents Collection in HL Library. These are shelved by SuDocs (Superintendent of Documents) call number. Ask us for assistance.
Sheet maps in this collection include a small collection of Soil Survey maps, Govt Doc A 57.38: and A 57.38/19:
Map Collection in Special Collections & Archives. Listing of loose maps in SCA. Contact Special Collections and Archives staff for more information about their holdings.
