Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Maine Newspapers: Maine Newspapers

Full-text Newspapers and Databases

Bowdoin Orient, 1871-2010

Casco Bay Weekly, 1988-2004
free and independent newsweekly

Access World News, 119 Maine newspapers with coverage of various time periods, including (as of January 2020)

  • Bangor Daily News, 1992 - Current
  • Bangor Examiner, 2009 - 2016
  • Biddeford-Saco-Old Orchard Beach Courier, 2012 - Current
  • Brunswick Times Record, Nov. 2011 - Current
  • Kennebec Journal, 2000 - Current
  • Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 2000 - Current
  • Portland Examiner, 2009 - 2016
  • Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram, 1994 - Current
  • Sun-Journal (Lewiston, ME), 2010 - Current

America's Historical Newspapers
(as of September 2017, includes over 90 Maine newspapers with coverage of various time periods)

Digital Archive of Brunswick Newspapers (a.k.a. Community History Archive of Curtis Memorial Library)
Brunswick Record (1903-1964)
Brunswick Telegraph (1853-1903)

Google News Archive
(as of September 2017)

  • Bangor Daily News, Nov 28, 1908 - Dec 31, 2008 (8,359 issues)
  • Biddeford Weekly Journal, Mar 24, 1893 - Nov 21, 1930 (1,117 issues)
  • Gray-New Gloucester Independent, Dec 2, 2006 - Feb 2, 2008 (12 issues)
  • La Justice de Biddeford, Apr 8, 1909 - Jan 12, 1950 (1,826 issues)
  • Lewiston Daily Evening Journal, Apr 20, 1861 - Sep 21, 1963 (651 issues)
  • The Lewiston Daily Sun, Feb 20, 1890 - May 31, 1989 (20,593 issues)
  • Lewiston Evening Journal, Apr 20, 1861 - Jul 26, 1980 (24,038 issues)
  • The Lewiston Journal, Nov 1, 1979 - Jun 3, 1989 (2,485 issues)
  • Lewiston Saturday Journal, May 4, 1878 - Mar 31, 1921 (1,697 issues)
  • Lewiston Wednesday Journal, Nov 23, 1887 - Mar 15, 1890 (276 issues)
  • Lewiston, Maine, Sun Journal, Aug 1, 2005 - Jan 31, 2006 (18 issues)

Gale OneFile News
(as of January 2020)

  • Bangor Daily News, 2003 - current
  • Portland Press Herald, May 2002 - present (with gaps)

Maine News (ProQuest)

See "ProQuest Global Newsstream" below.

Nexis Uni
(as of January 2020)

  • Bangor Daily News, 1994-
  • Portland Press Herald, 1995-October 21, 2011
  • The Original Irregular (Kingfield, Maine), October 4, 2006-December 10, 2008
  • The Quoddy Tides (Eastport, Maine)

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
(as of September 2017)

  • Bangor Daily Whig and Courier Oct 10, 1848 - Dec 30, 1899
  • Bangor Register Jan 04, 1821 - Dec 22, 1829

ProQuest Global Newsstream
(as of January 2020)

  • Bangor Daily News, 1993 - Current
  • Kennebec Journal, 2005 - Current
  • Maine Times, 1994 - 2002
  • Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 2005 - Current
  • Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram, 1995 - Current (with gaps)
  • Sun Journal (Lewiston), 2006 - present

More

See also other boxes on this page.

More current and historical newspapers

Use Journals A-Z and CBBcat to determine whether we have a particular newspaper.

Current Maine Newspapers - Microfilm and Print

Bangor Daily News, 1904,1940-54,1958,1972,1974,1978,1997-present
Main Micro

Bowdoin orient
Main Micro

Portland Press Herald and Sunday Telegram, 1954-
Main Micro
For indexing, consult: Maine News Index Online

The Times Record, 1967- (Brunswick)
Main Micro

More

See also "Full-text Newspapers and Databases" box on this page.

More current and historical newspapers

Use Journals A-Z and CBBcat to determine whether we have a particular newspaper.

Ceased Maine Newspapers - Microfilm and Print

Significant runs held at Bowdoin College Library

Maine Times, 1968-2002
Main Micro
The Maine Times was an alternative weekly with a focus on the environment, politics and social issues.
Indexing:
Maine Times Cumulative Index, 1968-1973, Main Per Index
Maine Times Index, 1973-1994, Main Per Index
Maine News Index Online, 1993-2002
Index to New England Periodicals, 1977-1982, Main Per

The Brunswick Record, 1902-1966
Main Micro

The Brunswick Telegraph, 1853-1903
Main Micro

Other newspapers held at Bowdoin College Library

Advocate of freedom

BIW log

Eastern Argus

The Free Soil Republican

Kennebec journal

Lewiston daily evening journal

Lewiston evening journal

Lewiston journal

Liberty standard

The Log (BIW)

Maine standard

Portland gazette

Sun-Journal (Lewiston)

Wabanaki alliance

More

See also "Full-text Newspapers and Databases" box on this page.

Historic newspaper holdings at Bowdoin College Library's Special Collections

More current and historical newspapers

Use Journals A-Z and CBBcat to determine whether we have a particular newspaper.

Newspaper Indexes

Newspaper indexes provide indexing for newspaper articles, but not the full-text of them.

Index to New England Periodicals, 1977-1982
Main Per

Index to Portland newspapers: 1785-1835
Main Ref F27 .P9 J7
a.k.a. "Jordan Index". Selective index covering:
Falmouth Gazette, 1785-1786
Cumberland Gazette, 1786-1791
Eastern Herald, 1792-1804
Portland Gazette, 1798-1824
Eastern Argus, 1803-1835
Portland Advertiser, 1824-1835
Daily Courier, 1830-1832
Christian Mirror, 1822-1835
Christian Pilot, 1832-1835
Downing Gazette, 1834-1836
Maine Farmer, 1833-1835
Yankee Farmer, 1835
The Jeffersonian, 1833-1834
Independent Statesman, 1821-1825
The Yankee, 1828
Family Reader, 1829-1833

Maine News Index Online
The Maine News Index begins in 1945 and covers 12 Maine newspapers and magazines. Pre-online coverage may be consulted at Portland Public Library.

Maine Times. The Maine Times was a pioneering alternative weekly with a focus on the environment, politics and social issues.

Snow Index to Brunswick Newspapers is no longer available. Instead use Digital Archive of Brunswick Newspapers (a.k.a. Community History Archive of Curtis Memorial Library) for the Brunswick Record (1903-1964) and Brunswick Telegraph (1853-1903).

Lists of Newspaper Holdings

At Bowdoin

Use Journals A-Z and CBBcat to determine whether we have a particular newspaper.

Historic newspaper holdings at Bowdoin College Library's Special Collections

Maine Newspaper Project 1999
Preliminary list of Holdings, February 9, 1998. Includes holdings for Bowdoin College Library.

At other libraries and archives

Maine Historical Society newspapers and catalog.

Portland History at the Portland Public Library
"Portland Public Library is the top research and preservation resource for the history of the Greater Portland area." Also very strong in Maine historical newspapers.

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem