Other ways to use a key sourceNote: Even if your key source is a primary source that lacks notes and a bibliography, you can still do citation searching. A key source can provide important terms to use in Keyword Searching and thereby develop terms for use in Subject Searching. The author of the key source can be used in Author Searching. If the key source is a book, the materials near the key source on the shelves can be Browsed for other relevant materials. (Compass can also be browsed by clicking on the call number of the key source.) If the key source is a journal article published in a "key journal", the journal articles in that "key journal" can be browsed for more relevant articles. |
Citation searching and/or footnote chasing are supported in a variety of ways by databases that the library subscribes to as well as freely available databases.
| Databases | Citation searching | Link to citing references | Footnote chasing | Other | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProQuest databases | Some ProQuest databases. | From both the results list and the document view, "Cited by [n]" links to citing materials. | "References" links to items cited in a given work. | "Documents with shared references" lists other materials that cite some of the same items that the given one does. | |
Some enhanced ProQuest databases.
|
The advanced search allows searching in the following fields: Reference, Cited author, Cited document title, Cited publication date, and Cited publication title. | From both the results list and the document view, "Cited by [n]" links to citing materials. | References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | "Documents with shared references" lists other materials that cite some of the same items that the given one does. | |
| Ebook Central. | Notes and bibliographies are fulltext-searchable. | From the results list, "Cited by [n]" links to citing materials. | References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | ||
| EBSCO databases | Some EBSCO databases.
For more information, see Cited References, EBSCO. |
Citation searching is available through "Cited References" (in the blue bar at the top). Follow instructions there. | From both the results list and the document view, "Times Cited in this Database" links to citing materials. | ||
| Other databases | Compass. Best Bet | Citation searching is available from the results list or from the record of the cited item. | From either the results list or the item's record, click on  |
From either the results list or the item's record, click on  |
|
| Scopus. Best Bet | Citation searching is available by choosing the "References" field in the "Search within" drop-down. | From the document view, citing materials are listed under "Cited by [n] documents". | From the document view, references are listed under "References". | ||
| ScienceDirect. | The advanced search allows searching in a "References" field (under "Show all fields"). | From the document view, "Cited by [n]" links to citing materials. | References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | ||
| ACM Digital Library | From the document view, citing materials are listed under the Bibliometrics & Citations button  > Citations (Cited by). |
From the document view, references are listed under "References". | |||
| Nexis Uni. | Notes and bibliographies are fulltext-searchable. | From the document view, "Citing Decisions", "Shepardize® this document", or "Other Citing Sources" link to citing materials. | References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | ||
| Westlaw. | Notes and bibliographies are fulltext-searchable. | From the document view, the "Citing References" tab lists citing materials. | References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | ||
| HeinOnline > Law Journal Library. | Notes and bibliographies are fulltext-searchable. | From the results view, "Cited by [n] Articles" links to citing articles. From the document view, the ScholarCheck drop-down button  (above the table of contents on the left) links to citing materials. |
References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | ||
| Google Scholar. | Notes and bibliographies are fulltext-searchable. | From the results list, "Cited by [n]" links to citing materials. | References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | ||
Other fulltext databases (entirely or in part) such as:
* See also above for other options. |
Notes and bibliographies are fulltext-searchable. | References are available as a part of any fulltext items. | |||
| Databases | Citation searching | Link to citing references | Footnote chasing | Other |
