Modernity and Identity in Japan, Hist 2421/ASNS 2311: Home

Professor: Sakura Christmas

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

"Japanese Kitchen, Hakodadi"
Narrative of the expedition of an American squadron to the China Seas and Japan, performed in the years 1852, 1853, and 1854, under the command of Commodore M. C. Perry, United States Navy, by order of the government of the United States, 1856. Available from HathiTrust.

Japan Times Archive, 1897 - 2016.

Search

Download

Hint: to download, display the page you want to download. Then..

• PC-Firefox: File > Save page as > Web page, complete. Pay attention to where you saved it. Starting from the folder in which you saved the page, the .png image of the newspaper page is in the "The Japan Times Archives" folder.
• Mac-Firefox: File > Save Page As > Web Page, Complete. Pay attention to where you saved it. Starting from the folder in which you saved the page, the image of the newspaper page is in the "The Japan Times Archives" folder.

Content

Japan Times Archive, 1897 - 2016.

Japan Times (current)

The Japan Daily Mail or Japan Weekly Mail, via HathiTrust

Japan News, 1989-present

Chinese Newspapers Collection, 1832–1953. Hint: Click on "Publications" to get a list of publications included.

Korea Times, 1956-2016

Foreign and foreign-language newspapers

JapanKnowledge
Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text, and other visual and sound databases. Encyclopedia of Japan is in English, otherwise the materials are in Japanese. Hint: If the content is in Japanese, click on "Eng" at the top right. Click on the "basic search" or "advanced search" tab. Enter a search term in English. Look for items on the results list that contain substantial English content.

Historical Abstracts and JSTOR are excellent sources for journal articles on Japan and Japanese history. Also:

• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
• PAIS
• Periodicals Archive Online

Compass is the single most comprehensive tool for searching the Library's print and electronic resources.

Resources for primary sources include:

• The primary sources tab on this guide.
• Compas and MaineCat
• WorldCat, then request via Interlibrary Loan
• HathiTrust, great for materials published before 1923
• Internet Archive
• Google Books

Research guide on Asian History, particularly the tab on Japan.

When searching, be sure to search on spelling variations or alternatives of geographic and personal names. The variations may depend on audience, publisher, country of publication, time period, socio-linguistic factors, etc. Also be aware of the possibility of typographical errors and of the probability of errors in optical character recognition (OCR). For example:

• Japan, Japon, Nihon, Nippon
• Okinawa, Ryukyu(s), Liuchiu(s), Lewchew(s), Loochoo
• Korea, Corea, Chosen, Choson
• Manchuria, Manchukuo, Manchoukuo, Manchoukou (a common typo), Northeast China, Tartary
• Taiwan, Formosa
• Ainu, Aino(s), Ainoo
• Hakodate, Hakodadi
• Marco Polo Bridge, Rokōkyō, Lugou Bridge, Lukou Bridge, Lugouqiao, Lukouchiao, Lukowkiao
• Saigō Takamori, Saigo Takamori, Saigō Kokichi, Saigō Nanshū

You can browse the shelves in this call number range for Japanese history: DS 801 - DS 897, including these historical periods: