Research Guides: Art History and Visual Arts: Find Articles

Area Studies

Index of Medieval Art
Archive of medieval art, describing and presenting iconographic subjects and images, without geographical limitation, from early apostolic times to the early modern era.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database is comprised of articles derived from regular coverage of periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists. Dates of Coverage: 1967-Present.
ITER (Middle Ages and Renaissance Studies)
An Open URL-and Zotero-enabled bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertations abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues). Dates of Coverage: 1784-Present.
Bibliography of Chinese Art
A bibliography of contemporary Chinese art, including general sources and sources for individual artists. Dates of Coverage: NA.

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas. Great starting point for searching secondary sources.
Art Full Text/Art Index Retrospective
Indexing and full-text of peer-reviewed articles, interviews, and books reviews covering art, art history, graphic arts, crafts, landscape, interior design, etc. Dates of coverage: 1929-Present.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Note: If you receive an error message while using JSTOR, please try clearing all JSTOR cache and cookies and searching again. While accessing it from off campus, you may also find that JSTOR works better in a private or incognito window, or over Bowdoin's VPN.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online
Coverage of architecture since 1934 (and selectively back to 1741), including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art)
Subject coverage includes fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. The name BHA has been used informally to refer to a group of databases: RAA, RILA, BHA, and IBA. The data available on this Getty Web site comprises two databases: BHA and RILA. BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990-2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art), covers 1975-1989; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject terms in English. At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie), which covers 1973-1989. For IBA coverage of material published after 2007, please see International Bibliography of Art on the databases list.

International Bibliography of Art
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. Subject coverage includes fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. Dates of Coverage: 2008-Present.
Project Muse
Full-text journal articles and books from leading scholars across the humanities and social sciences.