Sites of Shame, Densho
Sites of incarceration, Densho
See Federal Documents tab (this guide)
About Newspapers in camp with links to some papers, Densho Encyclopedia
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971, includes some camp newspapers. To find them, choose Browse Publications, then sort by location or date range.
Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946, Library of Congress
"Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps. They include articles written in English and Japanese, typed, handwritten and drawn. They advertise community events, provide logistical information about the camps and relocation, report on news from the community, and include editorials."
Japanese camp papers.
Available from Bates College.
"Contains a variety of newsletters and newspapers published from 1942 to 1945 in camps in various locations by interned Japanese Americans."
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Records, University of California, Berkeley
Includes some camp newspapers.
Japanese American WWII Internment Camp newspapers, Poston Chronicle, which was the main newspaper of the Poston, Arizona camp. California State University, San Bernardino.
Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946 : field basic documentation located at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. Location of guide indicated in Compass record. Contains newsletters, press releases, etc. from assembly centers and internment camps.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA), which "contains thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment, including: personal diaries, letters, photographs, and drawings; US War Relocation Authority materials, including camp newsletters, final reports, photographs, and other documents relating to the day-to-day administration of the camps; and personal histories documenting the lives of the people who lived in the camps, as well as of the administrators who created and worked there".
Behind Barbed Wire: Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, Library of Congress Story Map
An article from NARA about camp newspapers:
Rebecca K. Sharp. "How an Eagle Feels when his Wings are Clipped and Caged." Prologue 41, no. 4 (Winter 2009): 50-55.
