Densho Encyclopedia, "A free on-line resource about the history of the Japanese American WWII exclusion and incarceration experience."
Calisphere, "the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California." Includes a number of collections focusing on Japanese Americans during World War II.
Includes Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA), which "contains thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment, including: personal diaries, letters, photographs, and drawings; US War Relocation Authority materials, including camp newsletters, final reports, photographs, and other documents relating to the day-to-day administration of the camps; and personal histories documenting the lives of the people who lived in the camps, as well as of the administrators who created and worked there".
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement: A Digital Archive, University of California, Berkeley
Japanese American Digitization Project, California State University "The central focus of the [...] Project is the digitization and access to primary source materials focused on the mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II, but also related to the history and progress of Japanese Americans in their communities throughout the 20th century."
Japanese American Incarceration Images, 1941-1946. University of Southern California. "This collection of photographs from the Hearst Collection of the Los Angeles Examiner in the USC Regional History Collection, documents the incarceration of Japanese Americans in California during World War II. These 222 photographs provide a glimpse into the lives of Japanese immigrants and native born Japanese Americans (a.k.a. Nisei) residing in California from 1921 to 1958, with primary emphasis on 1941-1946."
Japanese-American Internment, S. Mintz & S. McNeil, Digital History, 2018
Topaz Japanese-American Relocation Center Digital Collection, Utah State University
Japanese American Archival Collection ImageBase, Sacramento State University
Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar, Library of Congress
Japanese American National Museum
Internet Archive, including videos from the Densho Visual History Collection, and more.
Japanese American Collections, The Lawrence de Graaf Center for Oral and Public History, California State University, Fullerton.
Japanese American World War II Evacuation Oral History Project
AFSC Oral History Project: Japanese-American Internment, American Friends Service Committee
Tule Lake Oral History Project, National Japanese American Historical Society
Los Angeles Times Archive, 1881-1988
San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-present
California Digital Newspaper Collection, 1846-
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
Utah Digital Newspapers includes a newspaper covering Millard County.
Use newspaper directories to find other freely available digital collections of newspapers covering the geographical area you are interested in.
More Newspapers
See also camp newspapers on "The camps" tab (in this guide)
HathiTrust Best Bet
Over 3.7 billion full-text searchable pages from almost 6 million book titles and almost 300,000 serial titles. Hint: To limit your search to materials that you will be able to read full-text, check "Full view only" below the search box. Login to HathiTrust to take full advantage of Bowdoin Library's membership benefits, allowing you to download full PDFs of public domain works. See Help or A User’s Guide to HathiTrust for more information.
Internet Archive
"Includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages." See Search for more information.
Digital Public Library of America
"An all-digital library that aggregates metadata — or information describing an item — and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States." Note: Not all (any?) materials are full-text searchable.
Google Books
Books from all disciplines, many available full-text and full-text searchable. See Help for more information.
Library of Congress E-books
This guide points to some databases of e-books.
