Keywords After you have formed your research thesis, locate your Search Terms. These are the words that you will use to search the databases. For example, when researching "What was President Reagen's economic policy toward Latin America?" your keywords are Reagen, Economic Policy and Latin America. Synonyms When searching for articles, it is important to think about different terminology. For example, an author writing about US "foreign policy" may only use the words "international relations" to describe US policies. -If you don't try different search terms, you may miss out on some great articles! AND, OR, NOT AND -results must include both words. Iraq AND War OR -results can contain either of the words. Children OR Adolescents NOT -results include one word and not the other. Global NOT Warming Limit your Search Databases all have ways to limit how you search them. This could be searching by Title, Author orPublication Date. Another great way to search is by Subject, sometimes called Descriptors or Subject Terms.
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas.
A highly selective digital library of academic content that includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Indexed materials in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture from two sources: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, USA and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
A multimedia resource for the study of anthropology, including a large collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials.
Broad coverage of international material, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year: 1951-Present.
National and regional ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals, updated daily: 1973-Present.
A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars: 1936-Present.
Complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), original literary works, and more published throughout the world about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States: 1970-Present.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more: 1450-Present.
