Learn the difference between scholarly, professional and general interest or popular journals and magazines to use the type appropriate for your research.
Examples of Scholarly Journals:
Journal of Adolescent Research
Examples of Professional (Trade) Journals:
ERIC (Proquest)
Includes articles from professional and scholarly journals, unpublished education articles, reports and case studies.
Education Database (Proquest Education Journals)
Indexes the scholarly and professional literature of education.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Focuses on indexing journals, government documents and institution reports related to public policy.
Academic Search Complete
Includes scholarly, professional and general interest articles in Education, among other disciplines.
Newspaper articles can be another useful source of information about Education. Bowdoin College Library subscribes to the full text databases of current newspaper articles below:
New York Times (1980-)
Nexis Uni
Worldwide newpapers, magazines, newswires and trade journals
Many databases provide journal articles in full text, but some provide only "citations"-- information identifying the article.
Within library databases you may be able to access the full text of articles by clicking the "check availability" or "Find It @ Bowdoin" link.
You can find articles in specific journals by selecting the "Journal Titles A-Z" tab on the Library Homepage. Enter the name of the journal (not the article title) and click "search."
If the article if at not available at Bowdoin or you are asked to pay for an article online, you may be able to get a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan or through one of our many databases.
If you found the article in one of our indexes or databases:
If you found the article through the web,
