Newspapers and primary source materials in 18th and 19th century American history.
Series 1: Chronicling the African American experience through 280 African American Newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Series 2: Complements and expands on Series 1, 1827-1998, with more than 75 newly available papers published in 22 states and the District of Columbia.
American independence, general interest, children's publications, journal articles: 1740-1900
U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present as well as select digitized newspaper page in PDF format: 1836-1922.
Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries: 1808-1980.
Full text copies of the New York Times. Provided by a third party (ProQuest).
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities.
Full text access to major American and international newspapers.
Full text.
Historical newspapers from Ancestry Library. From Ancestry Library, choose Search > All categories > Special Collections > Stories & Publications > Newspapers.
The Library’s Newspapers research guide lists many other nineteenth and early twentieth century newspapers.
Bowdoin College Library has an unusually large collection of magazines and journals from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The following databases and indexes are best for identifying specific articles in these older magazines and journals.
Documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction through American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
American independence, general interest, children's publications, journal articles: 1740-1900
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews: 1907-1984.
Archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. International in scope: 1665-2000.
Indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America: 1890-Present.
An archival research resource containing primary sources and core US and UK trade magazines for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
This link opens in a new windowCombines the broad coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty resources, including industry reports, country reports, company data, market research, and analyses.
1926-1984; includes predecessor titles.
