Skip to Main Content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Chicago-Style Citations: Social & Online Media, Data, Music, and Other Non-Print Materials, 17th ed.: Art &
Images

About Citing Art and Images

CMOS 17 states that " information about paintings, photographs, sculptures, or other works of art can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography."  Although guidance is presented if a note or bibliographic entry is needed. The entry to is similar to a book, with additional fields listed below.  If the photo/image does not have a title, we recommend describing the content depicted on the photo, image, or work of art. Any information not appearing on or with the item should be put within square brackets.

Also include the following information, when available:

  • Author
  • Title, in italics
  • Date of creation or completion
  • Material or medium
  • Size, if practical to collect, and/or needed to differentiate similar works
  • Location of the work
  • URL, if online.

Works of Art Displayed in a Museum, Exhibit, etc.

Displayed painting or work of art

Note 17. Gilbert Stuart, Portrait of James Bowdoin III, ca. 1806–1812, oil on canvas, 29 7/8 x 24 3/4" , Bowdoin College Museum of Art.
Bibliographic
Entry
Stuart, Gilbert. Portrait of James Bowdoin III. ca. 1806-1812. Oil on Canvas, 29 7/8. x 24 3/4". Bowdoin College Museum of Art.

 

Displayed photograph

Note 3. William P. Gottlieb, Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong, 1942, gelatin silver print, On 52nd Street: The Jazz Photography of William P. Gottlieb John Everett Mallais, 1829-1896, Bowdoin College Museum of Art.
Bibliographic
Entry
Gottlieb, William P. Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong. 1942. Gelatin silver print. On 52nd Street: The Jazz Photography of William P. Gottlieb John Everett Mallais, 1829-1896. Bowdoin College Museum of Art.

Art or Image Found in Printed Source

We recommend that you cite a photograph or work of art in a book or other printed source as a part, or "chapter," of a book. The citation should include the page, and plate, figure (fig), and/or illustration number if given (CMOS 17.158).

Painting or work of art in a book or printed resource

Note 12. John Everett Millais, Chill October, 1870, oil on canvas, in John Everett Mallais, 1829-1896, by Arthur Fish (London: Casell & Co., 1923), 85.
Bibliographic
Entry
Millaid, John Everett.  Chill October. 1870. Oil on canvas. In John Everett Mallais, 1829-1896, by Arthur Fish, 85. London: Cassell & Co., 1923.

Photograph in a book or printed resource

Note 12. Val Wilmer, Riverboat Shuffle: Bob Wallis and his Band Afloat, 1960, in An Unholy Row, by Dave Gelly (Sheffield: Equinox, 2014), 132, fig. 43.
Bibliographic
Entry
Wilmer, Val. Riverboat Shuffle: Bob Wallis and his Band Afloat. 1960. In An Unholy Row, by Dave Gelly, 132, fig. 43. Sheffield: Equinox, 2014.

Image in a book or other printed source

Note    4. Peter Schaffer, Illustration for Act II, Scene 18 of The Magic Flute, 1795, in Mozart's Operas: A Companion, by Mary Hunter (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2008), fig. 10.
Bibliographic
Entry
Schaffer, Peter. Illustration for Act II, Scene 18 of The Magic Flute. 1795. In Mozart's Operas: A Companion, by Mary Hunter, fig. 10. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2008.

Works of Art in ARTStor

If images and works of art are found in ARTStor or another database, the citation information should include information about the original source, i.e. repository or collection name and number. It is best to name the database rather than included the URL. (CMOS 17, 14.11) (See the "Images" box on this page for images found online through Google or another image search resource.)  

Note      5. Riverside, Dan Rice: Polar Bears on a Teeterboard, ink on paper, 27 3/4 x 41 3/4", The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, the State Art Museum of Florida, a division of Florida State University, ARTStor.
Bibliographic
Entry
 Riverside. Dan Rice: Polar Bears on a Teeterboard. Ink on paper, 27 3/4 x 41 3/4 in. The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, the State Art Museum of Florida, a division of Florida State University.  ARTStor.

Image Found Online through Google or other Image Search Tool

If images and works of art are found through a Google or other image search resource, the citation information should be taken from the original source, not Google, Yahoo, etc.

Note    2. Bowdoin College. [Graphic of Bowdoin Polar Bear], [n.d.], B&W image, Bowdoin College Polar Bears, http://athletics.bowdoin.edu/landing/index.
Bibliographic
Entry
Bowdoin College. [Graphic of Bowdoin Polar Bear]. [n.d.] B&W image. Bowdoin College Polar Bears. http://athletics.bowdoin.edu/landing/index.

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Report a Problem