The Nature of Health in the United States and the World, Hist 3180/ENVS 3980: History-secondaries

American History

Maine History

Primary Sources in American History

COVID-19, developed by Prof. Klingle, Sue O'Dell, and Barbara Levergood

• Others on our list of Databases such as ERIC, PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, ProQuest One Business.

Historiographies are published more commonly as article-length than as book-length works. Generally, use broader search terms when searching for books.

• Some scholarly articles available through America: History and Life (for U.S. and Canada) and Historical Abstracts (elsewhere) are historiographical in nature. Consider ANDing in the word historiography (which is a subject), e.g.
     park* AND historiography
  Broaden out the search by ORing in "review essay":
     park* AND (historiography OR "review essay")
• The following journals frequently include historiographies. They are indexed in AHL and HA.
  • "History Compass publishes peer-reviewed articles on the most important research and thinking across the entire discipline, with no restrictions in terms of geography, time period or historical methodology."
  • Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
  • Reviews in American History. "Each issue presents in-depth reviews of more than twenty of the newest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works by major historians are also regularly featured."
  • History & Theory
• Book reviews can be historiographical in nature. To find them, do an advanced search in America: History and Life or Historical Abstracts, limiting to Document Type > Book Review. In AHL, also do a separate search, limiting to Publication Type > Review.
• Dissertators are expected to do thorough literature reviews. The lit reviews of some dissertations in history qualify as historiographies. Search for dissertations in Dissertations and Theses Full Text.
• Some reference sources in the series "Oxford Handbook", "Oxford Bibliographies", "Cambridge Companion", "Blackwell Companions", etc. may include historiographies. Example: The Oxford handbook of environmental history. Search for them in Compass including one of the series titles, e.g.
     environment* AND "Oxford Handbook"
• Search in Compass and WorldCat, including the word historiography. You may need to use more general search terms, e.g.
     environment* AND historiography