Law and Economics, Econ 3540: Secondary Sources

Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Main Ref KF4527 .U54 2002
Updated online via govinfo.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

• Oxford Dictionary of Law, 2015
• Black's Law Dictionary Best Bet
  Main Ref KF156 .B53 2014
  Black's Law Dictionary is also in Westlaw under All Content > Secondary Sources.
• Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, (online, 2022)

Government publications

• Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports
• Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
• Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports

Law and Economics

• The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law Best Bet
  Main Ref. K487.E3 N48 1998
• Encyclopaedia of Law and Economics, 2000, via FindLaw

Economic History

• Encyclopedia of American Economic History
  Main Ref. HC103.E52 1980
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
  Main Ref. HC15.O94 2003 (print, online
• Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, 2015 (online)

Scholarly research in economics and related fields. Note: Please avoid law review articles; they do not contain the quality of economic analysis that is found in peer-reviewed economics journals. Law review journals are often titled [...] Law Review and are commonly found in the databases Westlaw and Nexis Uni.

• EconLit Best Bet
  the primary index for the scholarly literature of economics, covering journal articles, books, and working papers, published from 1886 to the present
• NBER Working Papers Series
• SSRN (Social Science Research Network):  search by keyword or browse by topic
  another good source of working papers
• Academic Search Complete
  a multi-disciplinary resource for scholarly and popular articles
• JSTOR
  a collection of scholarly journals; type in your search terms and select the Economics discipline; dates of coverage vary.
• Additional Databases
  your topic may be covered more thoroughly in a database from another discipline

Newspapers are great sources for coverage of prominent court cases.

• Nexis Uni, Access World News, InfoTrac Newsstand, and ProQuest Global Newsstream provide the full text of local and national newspapers from around the country.
• Some papers commonly used by economists and Maine papers:

More newspapers