| Vendor |
Database |
Visualization tools |
| ITHAKA |
Constellate > Builder |
Subscription version:
- number of documents by year
- term frequency
- document categories over time
- keyphrases
- category treemap
Freely available version:
- number of documents by year
- term frequency
|
| Elsevier |
Scopus > Analyze results |
- Documents by year
- Documents per year by source
- Documents by author
- Documents by affiliation
- Documents by country/territory
- Documents by type
- Documents by subject area
- Documents by funding sponsor
|
| Gale |
Gale Primary Sources databases:
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender
- Associated Press Collections Online: European Bureaus
- British Library Newspapers
- The Economist
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
- Financial Times Historical Archive
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive
- Indigenous Peoples of North America
- International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013
- The Listener Historical Archive
- National Geographic Magazine Archive
- NCCO: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: British Politics and Society (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: British Theatre, Music and Literature (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: Photography: The World through the Lens (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- NCCO: Women: Transnational Networks (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
- Nineteenth-century U.S. Newspapers
- Political Extremism and Radicalism in the 20th Century
- Punch Magazine Archive
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
- Slavery and Antislavery: A Transnational Archive
- The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016
- Times (London) Archive, 1785 to 2019
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online
- Women’s Studies Archive
Gale Archives Unbound databases:
- The American Indian Movement and Native American radicalism
- The Changing Men Collection
- Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988; Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988
- Federal surveillance of African Americans
- Feminism in Cuba nineteenth through twentieth century archival documents
- International Climatic Changes and Global Warming
- The International War on Drugs Archive
- The international women's movement the Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association of the USA
- Overland journeys travels in the West, 1800-1880
- Papers of Amiri Baraka, poet laureate of the Black power movement
- The Papers of Fannie Lou Hamer
- Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
- Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
- Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and its aftermath records of the U.S. State Department
- "Through the camera lens" the Moving picture world and the silent cinema era, 1907-1927
- Witchcraft in Europe and America
|
- Term Frequency
- Topic Finder
- Downloadable OCRed text
|
| Gale |
- Gale OneFile: News
- Gale Academic: OneFile
- Gale General OneFile
|
Topic Finder
|
| HathiTrust Research Center |
HathiTrust+Bookworm freely available |
word use trends in the HathiTrust corpus
|
| Google |
Google Books Ngram Viewer freely available |
Word/phrase use trends in a Google Books corpus showing a given ngram as a percentage of all ngrams. For example, of all unigrams, what percentage of them are "abortion"? See What does the Ngram Viewer do?
|
| Various |
To narrow a search by time period, some databases provide a timeline that shows the number of documents published per decade, per year, etc.
Some ProQuest databases, for example:
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online
- Black Studies Center
- Digital National Security Archive
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text
- Early English Books Online
- Ebook Central
- EconLit
- ERIC
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
- PAIS
- Periodicals Archive Online
- ProQuest One Business
- Sociological Abstracts
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Some ProQuest newspapers
- Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1984
- Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
- Boston Globe, 1872-1990
- Chinese Newspapers Collection
- Christian Science Monitor Archive, 1908 - 2009
- Detroit Free Press, 1831 - 1999
- Ethnic Newswatch
- Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
- Korea Times, 1956-2016
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-2014
- New York Amsterdam News Archive, 1922 - 1993
- New York Times, 1851-2018
- New York Times, 1980-Present
- Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-2001
- ProQuest Global Newsstream
- St. Louis Post Dispatch, 1874 - 2003
- Wall Street Journal, 1889 - 2010
- Wall Street Journal, 1984-present
- Washington Post, 1877-2006
- Washington Post, 1988-
Other newspaper databases
- Access World News
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers, 1911-1949
- Nexis Uni
- San Francisco Chronicle, Historical Archive and Current, 1865-present
- Times-Picayune, Historical Archive and Current, 1837-present
Other databases
- Nexis Uni
- PubMed (put words in double quotes to turn off Automatic Term Mapping, e.g. "abortion") freely available
- Internet Archive
|
timeline that shows (presumably) the number of documents published per [time period]
|
