Research Guides: Jim Crow Justice, Hist 3142/AFRS 3142: Reference

Reference

For definitions of terms as used contemporaneously, try early editions of Encyclopedia Americana or New International Encyclopaedia, both available at HathiTrust. See also the tab on "Law-Reference".

Bibliographies and indexes

General

From contraband to freedman: federal policy toward Southern Blacks, 1861-1865 by Gerteis, Louis S.
Call Number: Bowdoin Main Libr E453 .G47
Publication Date: 1973
Bibliography, pp. 233-245
Bureau Of Refugees, Freedmen, And Abandoned Lands (BRFAL)
Oxford bibliographies. African American studies

Publications of the Freedmen and Southern Society Project
University of Maryland

Select list of references on the Negro question by Library of Congress
Publication Date: 1903
Select list of references on the Negro question by Library of Congress
Call Number: Bowdoin Govt Doc LC 2.2:N 31/2
Publication Date: 1906

Law

Edwards, Laura F. "Bibliographic Essay", in A Legal History of the Civil War and Reconstruction: A Nation of Rights. New Histories of American Law. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2015, 177-189.

Black codes qand slave codes [Black codes and slave codes]
Oxford bibliographies. African American studies

Convict labor and labor

Index of All Reports Issued by Bureaus of Labor Statistics in the United States Prior to March 1, 1902. Washington: GPO, 1902.
There are entries on, for example, "convict [...]", "peonage", "prison [...]", "involuntary servitude", "contract [...]". HathiTrust. Govt Docs La 1.2:In 2.
Stone, Edna L. "Convict labor: recent references on convict labor", Monthly Labor Review 21 (October 1925): 181-200.
Stone, Edna L. "Bibliography: Recent references on convict labor", Monthly Labor Review 26.5 (May 1928): 199-203.

One dies, get another: convict leasing in the American South, 1866-1928 by Mancini, Matthew J.
Call Number: Bowdoin Main Libr HV8929.S92 M36 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Notes, pp. 233-265; selected bibliography of secondary works, pp. 266-274.
List of references on prison labor by Library of Congress
Call Number: Bowdoin Govt Doc LC 2.2:P 938
Publication Date: 1915
Incarceration
Oxford bibliographies. African American studies

Employment and compensation of prisoners in Pennsylvania; report of the Penal Commission, 1915
Bibliographies of materials pertaining to the U.S. and states, pp. 100-112

National Archives and Records Administration holdings

Black family research: records of post-Civil War federal agencies at the National Archives, compiled by Reginald Washington, 2010.
Black history: a guide to civilian records in the National Archives, compiled by Debra L. Newman, 1984.
Black studies: a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications, 1984.

Edward McPherson's reference works: Civil War and Reconstruction

The political history of the United States of America, during the great rebellion, including a classified summary of the legislation of the second session of the Thirty-sixth Congress, the three sessions of the Thirty-seventh Congress, the first session o
Edward McPherson. 4th ed. Washington: James J. Chapman, 1882.
A political manual for [...]
Edward McPherson, for the years 1866 to 1870
Handbook of Politics
Edward McPherson, for the years 1868 to 1894
Political History of the United States of America during the Period of Reconstruction, April 15, 1865-July 15, 1870
Edward McPherson. Originally published in 1871; republished with a new introduction, New York: Da Capo Press, 1972.