Use a law dictionary for definitions of unfamiliar terms.
"Laws in Relation to Freedmen, Compiled by Command of Major General O.O. Howard, Commissioner Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands," in Letter of the Secretary of War, Communicating, in Compliance with a Resolution of the Senate of December 17, 1866, Reports of the Assistant Commissioners of Freedmen, and a Synopsis of Laws Respecting Persons of Color in the Late Slave States. 39th Cong., 2nd sess., January 3, 1867, pp. 170-230. S.Exec.Doc. 6, serial 1276.
Available at HeinOnline and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Use a law dictionary for definitions of "freedmen" and other unfamiliar terms.
"Memorial of a Committee of the National Labor Convention, praying the appointment of a commission to inquire into the condition of affairs in the Southern States", 41st congress, 3rd session, S.Misc.Doc 25, serial 1442.
Available from HeinOnline and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Use a law dictionary for definitions of "memorial", "pray", "commission", and other unfamiliar terms.
"Memorial of republican members of legislature of Alabama, asking enactment of stringent laws for protection of all citizens of United States", 43rd cong., 2nd sess., S.Mis.Doc. 107, serial 1630.
Available at HeinOnline and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Use a law dictionary for definitions of "memorial" and other unfamiliar terms.
Report of the Industrial Commission on Prison Labor, Vol. III of the Commission's Reports. Washington: GPO, 1900. Also published as 56th Cong., 1st sess., 1900. H.Doc. 476, part 3, serial 3991. See "Summary of convict-labor laws," pp. 141-166.
Available at HeinOnline and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Remarks of Mr. Littlefield, 58th cong., 2nd sess., Congressional Record 38 (April 12, 1904): 4700 (right column)-4702 (right column).
Available from HeinOnline.
Russell, Charles W. Report on Peonage, Washington: GPO, 1908.
Available from HathiTrust.
Use a law dictionary for definitions of "peonage" and other unfamiliar terms.
"Bailey v. Alabama, 219 U.S. 219", in Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States, pp. 3-219.
Available at HathiTrust.
Use a law dictionary for definitions of "brief" and other unfamiliar terms.
Alonzo Bailey peonage casefile, 1908-1911
Folder: 001610-004-0715
Date: Jan 01, 1908 - Dec 31, 1911
Found in: Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945
Available from Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle (ProQuest History Vault). Search on: "Alonzo Bailey peonage casefile, 1908-1911"
An Act to Codify, Revise, and Amend the Penal Laws of the United States, ch. 321 §20, "Depriving Citizens of Civil Rights under Color of State Laws", U.S. Statutes at Large 35 (1909): 1092.
Available at HeinOnline.
Use a law dictionary for definitions of "penal" and other unfamiliar terms.
U.S. Immigration Commission. Abstracts of Reports of the Immigration Commission. 61st Cong., 3rd sess., 1911. S.Doc. 747 vol. 2, serial 5866. See the section on "Peonage in New England," pp. 447-449.
Available at HeinOnline and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Use a law dictionary for definitions of "peonage" and other unfamiliar terms.
Convict Labor; hearings before the Committee on Labor, House of Representatives, 1926.
Available from ProQuest Congressional.
"Prison Labor in the United States, 1932." Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics 595. Also published as 73rd Cong., 2nd sess., 1933. H.Doc. 158, serial 9857. Don't miss "Arguments and opinions for and against prison labor", pp. 208-216.
Available at HeinOnline and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Paschal, Richard A. Jim Crow in North Carolina: The Legislative Program from 1865 to 1920. Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2021. See especially pp. 195-267. Bowdoin Main Libr KFN7420 .P37 2021
