Research Guides: Introduction to Environmental Studies: Interdisciplinary Approaches, ENVS 1101: Journal Articles

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas. Great starting point for searching secondary sources.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Note: If you receive an error message while using JSTOR, please try clearing all JSTOR cache and cookies and searching again. While accessing it from off campus, you may also find that JSTOR works better in a private or incognito window, or over Bowdoin's VPN.

Be aware that JSTOR is not known for its currency. Many of its journals are embargoed for 1, 2, 5, or 10 years.

History

America: History and Life
Citations for journal articles, books, and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more...provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Dates of Coverage: 1450-Present.

Science

AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections
Journal articles, book chapters, official reports, maps, and electronic and audiovisual items related to agriculture from the National Agricultural Library.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Aquatic sciences and related fields. Includes serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. Dates of coverage: 1960-Present
Environment Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, marine and freshwater resources, and urban planning. Contains 2.5 million records from over 2,350 domestic and international titles. 930 journals are full text. Dates of Coverage: 1988-Present.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, Toxline, and EIS databases and provides full-text from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles on global warming, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PubAg
The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Library's (NAL) search system for agricultural information. PubAg contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles with links to publisher sites and elsewhere for full-text access.

Business

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
Collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics.
ProQuest One Business
- This link opens in a new window
Combines the broad journal coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty business resources. It includes industry reports, country reports, company data (annual reports, profiles, SWOTs), market research, and analyses.