This link opens in a new windowSanborn Maps from the Library of Congress
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, Digital Scholarship Lab, University of Richmond. "Here you will find one of the greatest historical atlases: Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, first published in 1932. This digital edition reproduces all of the atlas's nearly 700 maps. Many of these beautiful maps are enhanced here in ways impossible in print, animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data—remarkable maps produced eight decades ago with the functionality of the twenty-first century."
General Land Office Records, Bureau of Land Management.
"We provide live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. We also have images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records."
The War of the Rebellion Atlas, Baylor University.
These maps were created in the 1890s as a supplement to records from the Civil War.
David Rumsey Map Collection
"The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, wall maps, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from around 1550 to the present." (from the site)
Europeana - Maps and Geography
A collection of materials from cultural institutions, supported by the European Union
MapMaker Interactive
From National Geographic -- census, topographical, aerial, street, historic maps and particularly useful, printer-friendly maps.
The Newberry Library, Cartography - Special Map Collections and Strengths
A guide to the map collections at the Newberry Library.
The Newberry Library, Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
"The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia. It also includes non-county areas, unsuccessful authorizations for new counties, changes in county names and organization, and the temporary attachments of non-county areas and unorganized counties to fully functioning counties. The principal sources for these data are the most authoritative available: the session laws of the colonies, territories, and states that created and changed the counties."
Harvard Map Collection, Scanned Maps
Thousands of maps and atlases from all over the world
Library of Congress American Memory Map Collection
Historical maps organized in seven major categories, including cities, military, general.
Railroad Maps, 1828 to 1900, Library of Congress
JCB Map Collection, John Carter Brown Library, Brown University
Maps from Europe, Asia, North America, and South America from the 15th-19th centuries
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Norman B. Leventhal Map Center, Boston Public Library
Online: Massachusetts Maps, Massachusetts Historical Society
Japanese Historical Maps, University of California, Berkeley
Asian Maps Collection, University of Southern California
Perry Castañeda Map Collection
A very complete and useful map site which, in addition, provides links to other map sites. Try PCL Maps and the Texas GeoData portal.
Historic USGS Maps of New England & NY, University of New Hampshire Library
Maine Memory Network, Maine Historical Society
Osher Map Library & Smith Center for Cartographic Education, University of Southern Maine
One can "Show only results with images".
Road Maps, Osher Map Library & Smith Center for Cartographic Education, University of Southern Maine
One can "Show only results with images".
Maine's Bird's Eye Views, 1870-1905, Osher Map Library and Smith Center for Cartographic Education, the Maine Historic Preservation Commission, and the Maine Historical Society
Old Maps Online, a "gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world".
Images of early maps on the web, WWW-Virtual Library
"The soil survey has evolved as a program which describes, identifies, classifies, characterizes, and maps soils, and interprets their behavior." "The Soil Survey: Past, Present, and Future", Richard W. Arnold
Further information
AMS maps cover the time period before, during, and shortly after World War II. Many of the AMS maps were originally published in other countries and then republished and circulated.
Glossary of terms used on maps of Japan, U.S. Army, Army Map Service, August 1945.
