Research Guides: Economics: Home

Subject Guide

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

H-L 110B

207-721-5023

Subjects: Digital and Computational Studies, Economics, Government, History

RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet, from the American Economic Association, Bill Goffe, editor

Data Sources section provides links to data sources in three categories: U.S. macroeconomic data, other U.S. data, and world and non-U.S. data

EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
The primary economics database, covers more than 550 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Dates of Coverage: 1886-Present.
JSTOR
Use the "Economics" subject limiter to specify discipline. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Unfortunately, the last few years of many journals are not included in JSTOR (embargoed). Dates of Coverage: varies-Present.
PAIS Index
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. (1915-Present)
ProQuest One Business
- This link opens in a new window
Combines the broad coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty resources, including industry reports, country reports, company data, market research, and analyses.
Scopus
A database containing abstracts and citations, especially useful for citation chaining (finding a list of who cited an article).

NBER Working Papers
Working papers since 1973, NBER corporate history documents, and NBER books: 1921-present.

Social Sciences Research Network
Including the Economics Research Network.
Economics research papers, public policy research papers, economics departments papers, and government & public agency research papers. Requires free registration.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Includes working papers from private institutions (e.g., Brookings Institution, American Enterprise Institute, Cato Institute), university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Fed in Print
Economic research from the Federal Reserve
IDEAS (via RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
A collaborative project that serves as a gateway to decentralized collections of working papers, journal articles, and software components.

Bowdoin ILL
Interlibrary Loan can help you access articles, books, and other materials. Articles usually arrive quickly. You will receive a pdf in your email. Books may take longer but are still worth requesting if they look helpful.