Research Guides: Economics: Data-US

Library Databases

ICPSR

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Commonly used datasets include General Social Survey, American National Election Study, National Election Study,and U.S. Census. ICPSR contact: Linnea Minich l.minich@bowdoin.edu.
IPUMS

Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
Sage Data

Statistical data in a wide range of subject areas, with tools for searching, analyzing and visualizing.
Social Explorer

Current and historical census data and demographic information, national and international. Includes interactive maps 1790-2010, US Census 1790-2010, American Community Survey 2005-2015, FBI Uniform Crime Report 2010-2015, American election results 1912-2016, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980 and 2010), Vulcan Project carbon emissions data (2002), US Business Patterns (2014), and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program data (2010-2016). International data resources include the United Kingdom Census (2011), Canadian Census (2011), Eurostat (1990, 2000, 2010-2013), World Development Indicators (2013), and Irish religion and population data (1911 and 2001): 1790-Present.
Statista
Integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
WRDS

Business databases including CRSP, WRDS, Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, CRSP US Index History Files, Direct Marketing Educational Foundation, Dow Jones, Fama-French, Federal Bank Reports, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), IRI Marketing Factbook: Point of Sale, Penn World Tables, Philadelphia Stock Exchange United Currency Options, SEC Disclosure of Order Execution, and TRACE. Restricted to current Bowdoin faculty, students, and staff.
How can one access the WRDS databases?
- New users must register at WRDS. You will first be asked for your Bowdoin credentials. See below for complete information regarding WRDS eligibility. WRDS directs requests for new accounts to Tim Morton (t.morton@bowdoin.edu), whom you may also contact with questions or problems.
- Already registered? Sign in at WRDS.
Who is eligible to access the WRDS databases?
- The WRDS databases are available only those who register. Registrants must be eighteen (18) years of age or older.
- Individual WRDS accounts are offered to standing faculty, research staff, and currently-enrolled undergraduate students at Bowdoin. Please contact Tim Morton (t.morton@bowdoin.edu) for more information.
- Please note: WRDS prohibits those with Undergraduate/Masters account types to access WRDS during the extended break between semesters.
How may WRDS data be used?
- The WRDS services are for academic and non-commercial research purposes only. Users may not use data downloaded from the WRDS database for any non-academic or commercial endeavor.
- Users may not share data with others who are not Bowdoin faculty, students, or staff.
- User agrees to place the following acknowledgement in all publications or other communications prepared using the WRDS services: 'Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) was used in preparing IDENTIFY RESEARCH PIECE. This service and the data available thereon constitute valuable intellectual property and trade secrets of WRDS and/or its third-party suppliers.'
- The user agrees to place the following acknowledgement on research results using CRSP data: "Calculated (or Derived) based on data from DATABASE_NAME ©YYYY Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP®), The University of Chicago Booth School of Business." (DATABASE_NAME should be replaced with the database name and YYYY with the year of publication of the database.)
Terms of use
Please read the WRDS Terms of Use carefully.
WRDS databases available at Bowdoin College
- List of all available WRDS products and vendors, including those to which Bowdoin College is subscribed.
- Data available at no additional cost to Bowdoin College.
Nexis Uni
Contains information on companies

U.S. Data Sources

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Economic data from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Historical and current NIPA tables, direct investment, balance of payments, income, state and regional data, industry data, and international data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The best source for labor data. Among the topics covered are unemployment, employment, earnings, productivity, consumer expenditures and prices, industrial relations, employee benefits, occupational safety and health, and much more.
Census Bureau
Many economic series are conducted by the Bureau, including the Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Annual Survey of Manufactures, Current Industrial Reports. Topics covered include: finance, trade, demography, prices, income, labor, and much more. Use the A-Z list on the left-hand side.
Economic Report of the President (1947-present)
Each annual issue summarizes economic policies; includes annual report of the Council of Economic Advisors. Includes statistical tables covering national income or expenditure, population, employment, wages, productivity, business activity, prices, money stock, credit, finance, corporate profits, agriculture, and some international data. Many of the tables have historical data.
Survey of Current Business (1921-present)
Monthly publication includes a section of selected national, regional, and international economic and business statistics. Extensive annual NIPA data appear in August issue.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Historical Statistics of the United States
An historical supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District (1996-present)
Published eight times per year, summarizes economic conditions based on data reported from each of the twelve Federal Reserve districts.

Economic Indicators

Economic Indicators
Covers a number of indicators drawn from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and Census Bureau
FRASER: Economic Indicators 1948-present
Find pdf versions of monthly Economic Indicators publication from the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee

Forecasts

Congressional Budget Office
White House Office of Management and Budget
Survey of Professional Forecasters
The Survey of Professional Forecasters is the oldest quarterly survey of macroeconomic forecasts in the United States. The survey began in 1968 and was conducted by the American Statistical Association and the National Bureau of Economic Research. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia took over the survey in 1990.

U.S. Government Agencies

Legislative branch
- Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
  produces "independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process".
- Sources of Congressional Research Service Reports.
  The CRS "provides comprehensive research and analysis on all legislative and oversight issues of interest to Congress".
- Government Accountability Office (GAO)
  "the U.S. government's audit institution"
Department of Agriculture
- Food and Nutrition Service (SNAP, WIC, etc.)
- Economic Research Service (ERS)
- National Agricultural Statistics Service
Department of Commerce
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
  "produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision–makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy."
- Census Bureau
  "provides data about the nation's people and economy."
Federal Reserve
"the central bank of the United States. It formulates and administers credit and monetary policy."
- Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
  "Download, graph, and track 672,000 US and international time series from 89 sources."
- FRASER, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, "a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System."
Department of Health and Human Services
- Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
- National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Department of Labor
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
  "measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy."
Department of the Treasury
- Internal Revenue Service (IRS)

For other major federal statistical agencies, use the Obama-era Principal Statistical Agencies and Recognized Units. Statistical Programs of the United States Government, 2017, may also be of value.

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Print Data in the Library

Statistical Supplement to Survey of Current Business/Business Statistics of the United States
Govt Doc C 18.37: (Library has 1931, 1932, biennially 1936-1953)
Govt Doc C 59.11/3: (Library has: biennally or triennially 1975-1991)
Main Ref. HC101 .A13122 (Library has 1997- )
Chapters on national income and product; production; income; poverty; spending; state & local; trade; prices; employment; rates, etc. Each issue contains historical data. The data is nicely compiled and assembled; difficult to find this much in one place anywhere else.

Long Term Economic Growth: 1860-1970
Govt Doc C 56.102:Ec 7/860-970
1200 annual economic time series, carried back to 1860 when possible.

Treasury Bulletin (Monthly; Library has 1975- )
Main Periodical
Each issue begins with a profile of the economy.

Economics

Library Databases

How can one access the WRDS databases?

Who is eligible to access the WRDS databases?

How may WRDS data be used?

Terms of use

WRDS databases available at Bowdoin College

U.S. Data Sources

Economic Indicators

Forecasts

U.S. Government Agencies

Print Data in the Library