Some indexes and databases have a link to “Check Availability at Bowdoin,” showing whether a specific article is available in our Library collection. Or, use the Journal Titles A-Z section of the Library Gateway to determine whether we own a particular journal in print or electronic format. If we do not have the journal you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request an article from another library.
Scholarly articles are written by experts in a field and are typically directed at their peers. The articles contain reports of original research and in-depth analysis of topics. Scholarly articles may also be referred to as "peer-reviewed" or "refereed." These articles are submitted to a panel of experts, or peers, who review the content for standards established by the respective field. Examples include: American Journal of Sociology and Social Problems.
Popular and newsstand articles generally are shorter in length, sometimes are not signed, do not contain footnotes or a bibliography, and are targeted at the general population. Examples include Time and Newsweek.
Indexes of international scholarly literature in sociology, social work, and related disciplines; includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts. Sourced from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers: 1952-Present.
Broad coverage of international material, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year: 1951-Present.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and tools to track, analyze and visualize research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.
Fulltext of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics. Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1985-Present.
570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. Topics including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations: 1985-Present.
A highly selective digital library of academic content that includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas.
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews: 1907-1984.
A general social sciences index that spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
National and regional ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals, updated daily: 1973-Present.
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives worldwide.
Surveys conducted by US and international polling organizations, universities, news organizations, and special interest groups: 1986-Present.
An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics: 1937-2000
Datasets from thousands of surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples. A full-text retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the question-level: 1935-Present.
Note: You must register using your Bowdoin email address, name, and a password to use this site.
