Affirmative Action and U.S. Society: Indexes & Databases

Core Indexes and Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database that includes the full text of many, but not all, articles. Some full-text titles have publishers' embargoes which prevent the most current content from being displayed.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

America: History and Life
Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the history of the United States and Canada.

Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, historical documents, dissertations, video, and an index to the Schomberg collections.

Ethnic Newswatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

ERIC
A datbases of 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice; search for "affirmative action"

Historical Abstracts
World History from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Indexes about 2,100 journals.

Index to Black Periodicals
Available in print only

JSTOR
A collection of scholarly full-text journals. In the "Advance Search" you may limit your search to articles in the "African American Studies" and "African Studies" collections.

Lexis Nexis-Statisitical

Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes: Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, Second Edition; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (and forthcoming companion volume, 1896-present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; African American National Biography; other Oxford reference sources, primary sources, images, maps, charts, and tables.

Points of View Reference Center
This resource brings together "Points of View" essays, images, journal and  newpaper articles, primary source documents, news transcripts, and a variety of other sources; click on "View All Topics," then "Affirmative Action."

Project Muse
A collection of full text scholarly journal articles

Other Indexes and Databases by Subject

Indexes and databases may contain links to the full-text of an article or just a citation or bibiliographic information.  If there is only citation, full-text of the article may be available at Bowdoin in one of our other databases, it may be available in print at Bowdoin, or it may be available at another library through ILL or NExpress. 

To locate the full-text of an article at Bowdoin:

• Look for the "Check Availability @ Bowdoin" link. (In most indexes the link is adjacent to the citation.) 
  Click on the link; the article and journal title automatically be searched in our available resources, OR

• Search for the article through the "Journal Titles A-Z" on the Library homepage
  Enter the "source" (SO) or journal title found in your citation.
   
  

  Find a specific journal

  Title Keywords Subject

To order an article from another library:

• Look for the "Request this item via Interlibrary Loan" link in your "Check Availability... " results, OR

• Enter article requests directly through NExpress or Interlibrary Loan

• More information about Borrowing from Other Libraries.