Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Each volume of this 10 volume work includes essays devoted to the music of one region of the world. Companion CDs are available in the Music Library.
Music Ref. ML100 .G16 1998
African Music Encyclopedia
Includes a glossary and index to information about African artists, music in African countries, and links to other sources.
American Musical Traditions
Music Ref ML3551 .A53 2002
Encyclopedia of World Pop Music, 1980-2001
Music Ref ML102.P66 J44 2003
The Garland Library of Readings in Ethnomusicology: a Core Collection of Important Ethnomusicological Articles
Main ML3799 .G37 1990 (10 vol.)
Grove Music (Oxford Music Online).
The online edition of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and New Grove Dictionary of Opera
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Music Ref. ML100 .N48 2001
Reference Materials in Ethnomusicology: a Bibliographic Essay
Music Ref ML128.M8 N5 1967
Definitions, pronunciations, and translations of musical terms and instruments.
Selected Musical Terms of non-Western Cultures: a Notebook- Glossary
Music Ref. ML108 .K37 1990
Musical Instruments: A Comprehensive Dictionary
Music Ref. ML102.I5 M37 1975
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Music Ref. ML102.I5 N48 1984
The New Harvard Dictionary of Music.
Main Ref. ML100 .N485 1986; Also online
Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments
Music Ref. ML102.I5 B34 1992
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Music Ref. ML100 .K35 1994; Also online
