Research Guides: Sor Juana and María de Zayas: Early Modern Feminisms: Find Books

Library Catalogs

Advanced Search

Compass

Selected works in CBB

In a time when few women in Europe were educated and even fewer spoke out against the status quo, Maria de Zayas (1590-?) published novellas filled with criticism about gender relations.

A seventeenth-century writer of sensationalist short stories, Maria de Zayas was a bestselling author, steeped in the novella traditions of Italy and France as well as her native Spain.

This volume examines those areas of scholarship that illuminate her work, including her status as an iconic figure in Latin American and Baroque letters, popular culture in Mexico and the United States, and feminism. By addressing the multiple frameworks through which to read her work, this research guide serves as a useful resource for scholars and students of the Baroque in Europe and Latin America, colonial Novohispanic religious institutions, and women’s and gender studies. The chapters are distributed across four sections that deal broadly with different aspects of Sor Juana's life and work: institutional contexts (political, economic, religious, intellectual, and legal); reception history; literary genres; and directions for future research.

Famas y obras posthúmas

Poems, Protest, and a Dream - translation

Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collections

Collection of dissertations and theses. The official dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research...Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and these from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Dates of Coverage: 1861-Present.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Search the SUBJECT HEADINGS field in the online catalog by using the following terms:

By Country and Period:

Spanish literature--1500-1700--History and criticism
Spain--History--16th century--sources
Spanish literature--Classic period, 1500-1700

Individual author's name:

Juana Inés de la Cruz, Sister 1651-1695

Zayas y Sototmayor de 1590-1650 Criticism and Interpretation

By Individual Literary Work:

Obra Narrativa Completa, Maria de Zayas
The Divine Narcissus = El Divino Narciso

Genre:

Spanish poetry--To 1500
Romances, Spanish--History and criticism
Theater--Spain
Spanish literature - Women authors - History and criticism

Thematic:

Feminism and literature
Authors Mexican 17th Century
Women in literature

By Literary Movement:

Baroque--Spain

Background information:

Spain--Social Life and Customs
Women and literature - Mexico - History - 17th century
Spain--Intellectual Life--1516-1700
Literature and society--Spain
Spain in literature