Beethoven and the Invention of Western Music, Mus 2305: Journal & Research Resources

Music Periodicals Database, 19th Century–present
Indexes and abstracts popular and scholarly music periodicals covering a broad range of research topics including popular music, jazz, and ethnomusicology.

RILM: Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale
Indexes and abstracts international scholarly journal articles and a wide-range of scholarly resources;links to full-text resources.

Music Index, 1973-present
Indexes articles, reviews, first performance and obituary information from international music periodicals on a broad range of classical and popular music subjects; links to full-text resources.
  Available in print from 1949-1994.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
Indexes international music journals published between 1759 and 1950, some published during Beethoven's life..

JSTOR
A digital archive of multi-disciplinary scholarly journals; generally the most recent issues are not available. Select "Music" under the search boxes to search only music journals.

Project Muse
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journals; includes recent and archival issues.

Indexes and databases may contain links to the full-text of an article or just a citation or bibiliographic information.  If there is only citation, full-text of the article may be available at Bowdoin in one of our other databases, it may be available in print at Bowdoin, or it may be available at another library through ILL.

To locate the full-text of an article at Bowdoin:

• Look for the "Find it @ Bowdoin" link. (In most indexes the link is adjacent to the citation.) 
  • Click on the link; the article and journal title automatically be searched in our available resources, OR

• Search for the article through the "Journals and Newspapers by Title" on the Library homepage
  Enter the "source" (SO) or journal title found in your citation.
   
   

To order an article from another library:

• Look for the "Request this item via Interlibrary Loan" link.
• Or, Enter article requests directly Interlibrary Loan
• More information about Interlibrary Loan and Bowdoin Digital Delivery