Have a question? Need assistance? Use our online form to ask us for help.
Compiled by Kat Stefko, Director of Special Collections & Archives, with Caroline Moseley, Archivist emerita, June 2024.
This guide offers an overview of archival, manuscript, and rare book holdings that document the Wabanaki in the Brunswick and wider Midcoast region of Maine from the 17th century through the present time. Among Bowdoin's collections are important early Algonquian-language materials, land deeds and other official papers documenting the Bowdoin family's connection to the Wabanaki, Bowdoin student observations about the Penobscot who seasonally visited the Brunswick region well into the nineteenth century, the records of Elijah Kellogg, a Bowdoin overseer and missionary to the Passamaquoddy, and important early published works documenting the Abenaki who historically hunted and fished in the area now known as Brunswick. Also included in this guide are references to materials about Bowdoin faculty, student, and staff opinions and contributions to national political and ethical issues and debates relevant to the nation's indigenous peoples, especially the removal of the Cherokee in the 1830s.
The George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives (SC&A) collects, preserves, and makes available unique rare books, manuscripts, historical College records, and increasingly, digital collections. Students, scholars, and all with an interest are invited to explore and learn from these world-class collections through their own research as well as our varied exhibits, instructional sessions, and public programs.
SC&A, like all archives and special collections libraries, is the creation of human beings who have collected, organized, and described things in ways that reflect personal, cultural, societal, and institutional biases. Although we strive to preserve and present collections in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections, we acknowledge that our systems are neither neutral nor perfect. We encourage you to let us know if you encounter materials, descriptive language, or practices that are offensive or harmful, particularly those for which inadequate context or warning is offered. We are committed to modifying and updating our descriptive practices to use respectful and inclusive terminology and appreciate your help in this work. We look forward to supporting you in your research and learning together.
