Academic Search Complete
A mix of scholarly journals, including history, and general interest magazines, covering articles published back as far as 1980. About 60% of the articles are full-text.
America: History & Life
Online Index 1964-
Main Periodical Index 1964-1981
Indexes articles, books, and dissertations covering with the U.S. and Canada with links to full text when available.
Essay and General Literature Index
Main Periodical Index 1900-1994
This index is unusual because it emphasizes the contents of books (i.e. chapters or sections). Coverage includes literature, social science and history.
LexisNexis Academic
Online Database
Full text of domestic and international news and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title but many go back to 1980.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from selected scholarly journals. Coverage begins with a title’s first issue however the most recent five years are not available. When you go to the J-Stor screen, click the SEARCH button to access a search screen and to choose your subject grouping of journals to search.
Periodicals Index Online
1770 - 1990/1991.
An index only, but if a cited article is included in JStor, PCI will link to the full text. While not comprehensive, PCI represents a beginning in online indexing to many of the Library's 19th and early 20th century journals.
Poole's index to periodical literature: 1802-1906
Main Periodical Index
A subject index to British and American periodicals of the nineteenth century. Bowdoin Library owns many of these nineteenth century periodicals in its collections.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
1890 – 1982
Indexing for the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Bowdoin has many of the early 20th century journals.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Digitized : 1817 - 1980 (when complete)
Gov Docs Y1.1/2: (Print volumes)
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is comprised of thousands of sequentially numbered volumes containing congressionally-produced reports and documents. In the 19th century, many executive agency documents were published in the Serial Set as well, making it an extraordinarily rich source of primary documents for American History and culture.
Our lists of databases, alphabetical or by subject.
Some databases do not provide journal articles in full-text, but rather provide only citations, i.e. information identifying the article with author, article title, journal title, date, volume and issue numbers, page numbers, etc. To get the article, take this information and follow the directions below under "If you already know the title of the journal...".
Some databases link directly to full-text journal articles using a link such as PDF full-text, Linked full-text, full-text, full-text - PDF, Article PDF, etc.
Many citations in many databases have a link reading Find it @ Bowdoin, check availability, or something similar. Clicking that link brings up a window which tells you whether the article (a) is available in full-text, or (b) is available in print or microfilm at Bowdoin, or (c) is not available at Bowdoin but can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
you can select the Journals & Newspapers tab on the Library Homepage and enter the journal (not the article) title. If we have access to that journal, you'll find a list of full-text subscriptions or other print or microform choices for accessing the article. If the journal is not available at Bowdoin, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
