Research Guides: Congressional Documents: Members

General information about members

Previous Versions of Member Websites
The Wayback Machine may have captured previous versions of a Member's website. Search the Wayback Machine by URL and click on the dates of previous captures to look at them.

ProQuest Congressional
Go to: Members & Committees > Member Records > [MEMBER'S NAME] > Member Profiles

Almanac of American Politics
A volume is issued for each Congress. Organized by state. It includes for each member: biography, political activities, committees, key votes, group ratings, National Journal ratings, election results, and for members of the House, description of the district and demographics. Also includes leadership, state profiles, campaign finance, etc. The entries for the chairs and committee members may include discussion of those individuals' roles and activities on the committees.
Statement of Disbursements (Receipts from House of Representatives)
"[A] quarterly public report of all receipts and expenditures for U.S. House of Representatives Members, Committees, Leadership, Officers and Offices." Compiled by the Chief Administrative Officer.
Report of the Secretary of the Senate (Receipts from the Senate)
"[A] statement of the receipts and expenditures of the Senate, showing in detail the items of expense under proper appropriations", including members' expenses.

Politics in America, 1990-2014 (ceased)
Main Ref JK 1010 .P64, Main Libr JK 1010 .P64
Similar to Almanac of American Politics. A volume is issued for each Congress. Organized by state, it includes for each member: biography, committees, key votes, CQ Vote Studies, election results, party unity, presidential support, and interest group ratings; and for members of the House, description of the district. Also includes committees, campaign finance, state profiles, member statistics, House and Senate committee rosters, etc.

Congressional Roll Call
1969, 1972-2013
Main Ref JK1 .C6635
Includes party unity, presidential support, key votes, roll call votes, etc.

Senators of the United States: a historical bibliography: a compilation of works by and about members of the United States Senate, 1789-1995 S.Doc. 103-34. Y 1.1/3:103-34. Serial 14217.

There are also a number of documents that focus on members of particular groups in Congress such as

African American Members of the U.S. Congress: 1870-2020 (CRS Report)
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007 (print and online)
Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-2012 (online, print)
Women in Congress, 1917-2017
Women in Congress, 1917-2018: Service Dates and Committee Assignments by Member, and Lists by State and Congress, Congressional Research Service

Directories

Find Your Representative
"Not sure of your congressional district or who your member is? This service will assist you by matching your ZIP code to your congressional district, with links to your member's website and contact page."

Member information
House of Representatives, current members only

House Directory of Representatives

Senators

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-

Congressional Directory (print and online) and online via GovInfo Best Bet
Includes short biographies of members of Congress and membership of Congressional committees

Official congressional directory (print; newer editions online)
Govt Ref, Govt Doc Y 4.P 93/1:1/

Congressional yellow book, 2013-
Main Ref, Main Libr JK1012 .C652
Previously: Congressional staff directory, 1959-2012 (with gaps)
Main Libr JK1012 .C65

The United States Congressional Directories, 1789-1840
Main Ref JK1011 .U53

Members of the U.S. Congress
From congress.gov. 93rd Congress- (1973-), plus members from 71st-92nd Congresses (1929-1972) who were still serving in 1973.

Members of Congress, 1700s-
From govtrack.us

Scores and rankings

CQ Almanac (online, 1945-2020)
Govt Index JK1 .C66 (print, 1948-2020)
Published annually. Narrative coverage of key legislation, controversies and major issues, as well as an appendix of vote counts and other data for each session of Congress.

Almanac of American Politics (online, 2000-; print, 1974-) Best Bet
Main Ref JK 1012 .A44 or Main Libr JK 1012 .A44
A volume is issued for each Congress. Organized by state. It includes for each member: biography, political activities, committees, key votes, group ratings, National Journal ratings, election results, and for members of the House, description of the district and demographics. Also includes leadership, state profiles, campaign finance, etc. The entries for the chairs and committee members may include discussion of those individuals' roles and activities on the committees.

Voting records

ProQuest Congressional > Members & Committees > Member Records > [MEMBER'S NAME] > Member Profiles > Floor Votes

See also "Floor Votes" tab, this guide.

How to ...

Find bills and resolutions introduced, sponsored, or cosponsored by a particular member

Use a database that can be searched by member's name such as:

Alternatively, using the print index to the Congressional Record or searching it electronically, look up the member's name. Look for a subheading beginning with "Bills and resolutions". Each entry includes a summary of the bill, the bill number, the page number in the Congressional Record, and the date.

Find a member's remarks in the Congressional Record

Use a database that can be searched by member's name such as:

Alternatively, using the print index to the Congressional Record or searching it electronically, look up the member's name. Look for a subheading beginning with "Remarks by". Each entry includes the page number in the Congressional Record and the date.