United States Congress, Gov 2010: The Gems

New York Times [1851-2010] [1980-present] [website]

Washington Post [1877-1996] [1996-present] [website]

Wall Street Journal [1889-1995] [1984-present] [website]

CQ Magazine. Published weekly. "In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes."

C-SPAN Video Library. Provides video of all C-SPAN programming since 1987, many on public policy.

C-SPAN Congressional Chronicle. Member information, committee information, votes, recorded and live video proceedings & hearings, and more.

Maine Newsstand

Other sources:

• National Journal
• Roll Call. a.k.a. CQ Roll Call. [1989-present] [website (library doesn't subscribe)]
• The Hill. [1995-present] [website (library doesn't subscribe)]
• Politico

2. Reference sources, great for general and background information

  See also the "Secondary Sources" tab on this guide.

  See also "CQ publications" in the box at the bottom of this page.

  See also the "Members & Districts"  tab on this guide.

Almanac of American Politics (online, 2000-; print, 1974-)
Main Ref JK 1012 .A44 or Main Libr JK 1012 .A44
A volume is issued for each Congress. Organized by state. It includes for each member: biography, political activities, committees, key votes, group ratings, National Journal ratings, election results, and for members of the House, description of the district and demographics. Also includes leadership, state profiles, campaign finance, etc. The entries for the chairs and committee members may include discussion of those individuals' roles and activities on the committees.

Congressional yellow book, 2013-
Main Ref, Main Libr JK1012 .C652
Previously: Congressional staff directory, 1959-2012 (with gaps)
Main Libr JK1012 .C65

Washington Information Directory (print, online)
1983/84-
Main Libr F192.3 .W33
Includes information on committee jurisdiction and committee and subcommittee membership.

congress.gov. "Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public."

House Directory of Representatives

Senators

The Wayback Machine may have captured previous versions of a Member's website. "The Internet Archive Wayback Machine is a service that allows people to visit archived versions of Web sites. Visitors to the Wayback Machine can type in a URL, select a date range, and then begin surfing on an archived version of the Web."

Congressional district data via data.census.gov. District demographic data is also found in Almanac of American Politics (see above).

3.a. Congressional Record

  See also the "Cong.Debate"  tab on this guide.

govinfo, Government Publishing Office

congress.gov, Library of Congress

HeinOnline

C-SPAN Video Library. Provides video of all C-SPAN programming since 1987, many on public policy.

3.b. Committee Hearings

  See also the "Committee Hearings&Prints" tab on this guide.

govinfo, Government Publishing Office

ProQuest Congressional. New: Congressional Hearing Print Request. Bowdoin students, faculty, and staff may request that a hearing be printed, bound, and delivered to your campus address in 2-4 days.

C-SPAN Video Library. Provides video of all C-SPAN programming since 1987, many on public policy.

4. Legislation

   See also the guide Congressional Documents: Bills&Resolutions.

congress.gov, Library of Congress

govinfo, Government Publishing Office

Committees

  See also the "Committees"  tab on this guide.

  For committee jurisdiction, check the committee website, use Washington Information Directory (see above), or use Rules&Procedures tab.

House Committees, U.S. House of Representatives

Senate Committees, U.S. Senate

Elections

  See also the "Elections" tab on this guide.

Almanac of American Politics (see above)

CQ Voting and Elections Collection

Other

• Discharge petitions
• Committee history
• Oral histories
• Public opinion polls
• CRS reports