Skip to Main Content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

News & Newspapers: Audio & Video News

Tip

When looking for audio or video on a topic related to news or public affairs, begin with either a general source such as Nexis Uni or Westlaw, which provide searchable transcripts from a wide variety of sources, or Vanderbilt Television News Archive, which provides indexing.

When you find something of interest, make a note of the date of the original video and the source, for example, CNBC or CBS. Then look on the website of the original source to try to find the audio/video.

Audio

Note: Be careful accessing sound files from websites that you do not know and trust.

News and public affairs

Access World News. After doing a search, limit by Source Type > Audio.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting, a collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. "Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Watch and listen."

InfoTrac Newsstand. Choose:
Advanced Search > Select Document Type(s) > Audio file

NPR provides audio and transcripts of a number of programs, including their news programs.

MPBN News, The Maine Public Broadcasting Network

General

Audio Archive from the Internet Archive "contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users".

Search the catalog of the National Archives and Records Administration. Refine your search: Refine By > Type of Materials > Sound Recordings; limit to Online materials

New York Public Radio, Shelby White and Leon Levy Digital Archives

British Library Sounds, "A selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds."

Old Time Radio (OTR). There are a number of websites that offer access to Old Time Radio broadcasts for free or fee. They can easily be found using Google. Be cautious when accessing materials on sites that you do not know and trust.

Video

News and public affairs

ABC News. Restrict search results to videos.

Access World News. After doing a search, limit by Source Type > Video.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting, a collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. "Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Watch and listen." Includes gavel-to-gavel television coverage of the Senate Watergate hearings of 1973.

AP Archive (video).

Bloomberg TV.

CBS News. Restrict search results to videos under "Content Type".

CNBC. Restrict search results to videos.

CNN provides transcripts and video.

C-SPAN Video Library provides video of all C-SPAN programming since 1987. Congressional Chronicle includes proceedings of the House since March 1979 and of the Senate since June 1986.

Fox News. Restrict search results to videos.

GBH Archives, from WGBH, Boston, "provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station GBH. Open Vault contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools".

InfoTrac Newsstand. Choose:
Advanced Search > Select Document Type(s) > Video file

PBS provides transcripts and video.

WSLS-TV (Roanoke, VA) News Film Collection, 1951 to 1971, including ca. "18,000 pages of the accompanying scripts read on air by anchorpersons". Highlights from the collection

Campaign Ads

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2016, Museum of the Moving Image

Guide, Princeton University

General

Moving Image Archive from the Internet Archive "contains over a million digital movies [...] which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts".

Search the catalog of the National Archives and Records Administration. Refine your search: Refine By > Type of Materials > Moving Images; limit to Online materials

YouTube. To access a transcript of a YouTube video (if available), choose More > Transcript.

Transcripts and Indexing

Access World News. After doing a search, limit by Source Type > Transcript.

CNN provides transcripts and video.

GBH Archives, from WGBH, Boston, "provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station GBH. Open Vault contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools".

InfoTrac Newsstand. Choose one or more of the following under Advanced Search > Select Document Type(s):
Broadcast transcript
Audio file
Video file
Transcript

Nexis Uni provides searchable transcripts from ABC, CBS, CNN, Fox, MSNBC, NBC, NPR, BBC, etc. After doing a search, narrow your search using Publication Type > News Transcripts.

NPR provides audio and transcripts of a number of programs, including their news programs.

PBS provides video and transcripts.

The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. The complete archive of this landmark publication is an essential witness to the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive. "The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968." "The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq."
Bowdoin does not subscribe to their streaming video service, but their database can be searched for materials of interest. Commercials can be excluded by doing an advanced search.

Westlaw. Search under: All content > News > News By Type > Transcripts.

WSLS-TV (Roanoke, VA) News Film Collection, 1951 to 1971, including ca. "18,000 pages of the accompanying scripts read on air by anchorpersons". Highlights from the collection

YouTube. To access a transcript of a YouTube video (if available), choose More > Transcript.

Other guides

Other guides to news broadcasts or transcripts

How do I find television/radio broadcasts or transcripts?, University of Chicago Library

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Report a Problem