Spiral Staircase, Collection of the Supreme Court of the United States
Style and Citation Guides
Bowdoin Library maintains this list of resources for Chicago, Bluebook, and other styles.
The bluebook : a uniform system of citation
Main Ref Desk KF245 .B58 20th 2015
The standard legal citation guide. I recommend the Quick Style Guide.
Earlier editions of the Blue Book may be available from the Wayback Machine.
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (LII)
Peter W. Martin, Cornell Law School.
Guide to foreign and international legal citations, New York University School of Law
Main Ref K89 .G84 2006
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations.
Searchable by abbreviation or by title. "This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals but some other legal publications are also included."
Full-text subscription database of case law, law reviews, and news.
Help: "Campus Help Guide" [i.e. "Introduction to legal research on Westlaw Next"] is linked to at the bottom of every Westlaw webpage. Other guides, including Searching with Boolean Terms and Connectors are also available.
Full-text subscription database of federal and state court opinions, statutes, law review articles, news, and more.
Help (at the top right of the search screen) or Top 10 Nexis Uni™ Features to Explore.
International coverage and access to law reviews, scholarly articles, jurisdictional surveys, legislation, and more. Search on a citation to a court opinion in the "Court Cases" field. Search on a citation to the U.S. Code using the form "8 U.S.C. 1158" in the "Statute" field. The "check availability" link connects to full-text in most cases.
JSTOR. An online archive of scholarly journals, including a number of respected law reviews. This can be an especially useful database to search when looking for law reviews discussing court opinions decided prior to ca. 1982.
Law Review Commons. "The largest collection of free and open law review scholarship." These "publications are made freely available online through their institutions’ bepress Digital Commons repositories."