In addition to reference works devoted to jazz, information about jazz and jazz musicians can be found in books about music, in general, and popular music and popular culture resources.
Grove Music (Oxford Music Online)
The online edition of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and New Grove Dictionary of Opera
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Music Ref ML102 .J3 N48 2002
African American Music Reference
Online editions of books and reference materials on jazz and jazz musicians.
Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz (Leonard Feather & Ira Gitler)
Main Ref. ML102 .J3 F4 1999
Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Sixties (Leonard Feather)
Main Ref. ML102 .J3 F42 1966
Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Seventies (Leonard Feather & Ira Gitler)
Main Ref. ML102 .J3 F43 1976
Leading Musical Performers (Popular Music and Jazz) 1900-1950 (Roger Kinkle)
Music Ref. ML102 .P66 K55 1996
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Music Ref. ML102 .P66 G84 1998; Online
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Music Ref. ML100 .N48 2001
Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Jazz & Blues
Music Ref. ML102 .J3 B55 2005
Jazz Milestones : a Pictorial Chronicle of Jazz 1900-1990
Music Ref. ML3506 .J38 1993
Harmony Illustrated Encyclopedia of Jazz
Main Ref. ML102 J3 C34 1987
Jazz Records, 1897-1942 (Brian Rust)
Main Ref. ML156.4 .J3 R93 1978
Jazz Discography (Tom Lord)
Main Ref. ML156.4 .J3 L6 1992
Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings
Main Ref. ML156.4 .J3 C68 2008
See also, "Reviews" in this guide
Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy : a Research and Information Guide (Eddie Meadows)
Music Ref. ML128 .J3 M34 2005
Literature of Jazz : a Critical Guide
Music Ref. ML128 .J3 K45 1980
Jazz-Bibliography : International Literature on Jazz, Blues, Spirituals, Gospel and Ragtime Music...
Music Ref. ML128 .J3 H43
Fire Music : a Bibliography of the New Jazz, 1959-1990
Main Ref ML128 .J3 G7 1991
