Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Jazz: Reviews

Finding Reviews in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary index of journals, newspapers, and magazines; choose: Publication Type: "Entertainment Review" to narrow search to reviews.

IIMP
An index of popular and scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers; to find reviews, add "review*" to search terms. (ex.: "John Coltrane" review*)

Music Index
An index of international music research journals, magazines and newspapers; choose Document Type: "Entertainment Review" to narrow search to reviews. Includes reviews back to 1973; before 1973 use Music Index in print in H-L reference collection.

Rock's Back Pages
Articles on rock music and culture from the major rock music magazines published in the USA and the UK since the early 1970s; includes interviews and reviews of jazz artists; choose "artists" or "subject" jazz in drop down boxes or use "advanced search"

RILM
An international index of scholarly materials including journals, magazines, book chapters, and thesis/dissertations; choose Document type: "Review of recording," "Review of book," etc. or "All Reviews" to narrow to reviews or reviews by type of reviewed material.

Readers Guide Retrospective
A multi-disciplinary index of popular and scholarly journal covering resources published between 1890 and 1982.

Newspapers
Newspapers are a wonderful source for reviews of materials by respected music critics.

Proquest Newspapers
Includes 500 US and international news sources, includes current and past issues of the New York Times, Boston Globe, Wall Street Journal and the Times (London).

LexisNexis-Academic
Worldwide newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade journals.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

New York Times Archives

Los Angeles Times Archives

Times (London) Archives

Washington Post Archives

Ethnic Newswatch
Index of newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

Online Journals/Magazines

Blackgrooves
A monthly review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music and Culture at Indiana University.

AllMusic: Jazz
Reviews, discographical and biographical information; searchable by performer, song, or album.

Billboard
Review finder searches for reviews published 1950s-current; click on "Reviews."

Billboard (Google books)
Google books has digitized Billboard magazine issues back to 1942; in the search box enter: Billboard [artist, album, and/or year]

JazzTimes
Electronic version of Jazz Times, available in print in the Music and H-L libraries; includes reviews of albums, concerts, videos, books, and instruments

All About Jazz
A daily webzine featuring a reviews of CDs, books, tracks, and DVDs; click on "Articles" to access reviews.

Downbeat
Online version includes reviews from the past 10 months; available in print from 1937-current in the Music and  H-L libraries

Other Resources

Books

All Music Guide to Jazz : the Best CDs, Albums & Tapes
     Music Ref. ML156.4.J3 A45 1994

Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings
     Main Ref. ML156.4.J3 C67 2008

Other Websites

RIAA-Gold & Platinum
A searchable database of the Recording Industry Association of American Gold & Platinum award winners from 1958-present.

All Music Guide: Jazz
For recording reviews, search for artist, click on "Discography" then title of album.

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem