Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Jazz: Online Sound and Video Recordings

Online Sound Databases

 

Naxos Music Library Jazz
Recordings from the Naxos Jazz and other major labels; includes contemporary and historic jazz performers.
   iPhone/iPad App

Jazz Music Library
Includes over 100,000 recordings from important jazz labels, including Verve, GRP Records, and Impulse!

African American Song
Incorporated into American Song.  To search only the African American Song database, in the search box  click on "African American Music" under Genre, then enter search in "Search text within results"

Contemporary World Music 
Includes jazz and jazz fusion music from around the world; searchable by genre, people, or place.

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
Sound, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings (formerly Composers Recordings) and other labels; includes a variety of jazz musicians and groups.

Smithsonian Global Sound
Recordings from the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and other archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, other labels, and important research collections.

 

Online Video

Naxos Video Library
Includes "Jazz" videos of musicians and groups.

 
 

A comprehensive video service covering anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

 
 

Streaming films in the arts, business, health, media/communications, sciences, and humanities.

 

 

How to Find Recordings

The online sound recording databases only permit audio streaming.  Due to copyright restrictions most recordings are not downloadable.  However, many of recordings found in the databases can be checked out from the Beckwith Music Library or borrowed from our partner libraries, Bates and Colby.

Ethnomusicology recordings can be found in the Music Library CD cabinets and on the LP shelves under call numbers beginning with "Jazz," "Ethno," and and "USEthno"

Search for recordings at Bowdoin:

Search Bowdoin
  in:  

     
 

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem