Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Jazz: Journal & Research Resources

Journal and Research Indexes & Databases

Music Periodicals Database
Indexes over 900,000 articles on a wide range of music subjects including a number of journals devoted to the music of specific regions and countries.

RILM: Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale
Indexes and abstracts international scholarly journal articles and a wide-range of scholarly resources;links to full-text resources.

Rock's Back Pages
Articles on rock music and culture from the major rock music magazines published in the USA and the UK since the early 1970s; includes interviews and reviews of jazz artists

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archives

JSTOR
A digital archive of multi-disciplinary scholarly journals; generally the most recent issues are not available. Select "Music" under the search boxes to search only music journals.

Music Index, 1973-present
Indexes articles, reviews, first performance and obituary information from international music periodicals on a broad range of classical and popular music subjects; links to full-text resources.
  Available in print from 1949-1994.

Academic Search Complete
Indexes multidisciplinary scholarly and popular music periodicals; links to full-text resources. 

Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexes multidisciplinary popular and scholarly journals and magazines.

America: History and Life
Indexes history and culture journals

Jazz Journals @ Bowdoin and Beyond

Billboard

1963-current
Back issues: Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Some issues available online

Downbeat

Current issues in Music Library, back issues: HL basement
Some issues also available online

Journal of Jazz Studies

Jazz Perspectives

Current issues in Music Library, back issues: HL basement

Jazz Research Journal

Available through IIMP, 2010-present

Jazz Times

Current issues in Music Library, back issues: HL basement
Some issues also available online

See also "Reviews" for a list of online journals/magazines

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem