Research Guides: News & Newspapers: Foreign, in English

English language, published abroad

These databases include at least one English-language newspaper published abroad (in either an English-speaking or a non-English speaking country).

Access World News
Current and historical international, national, and regional news.
Google News Archive
Searchable database of scanned newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1700s-Present, depending on newspaper.
Nexis Uni
Worldwide newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade journals. Archives of state and federal case law, statutes and regulations.
Press Reader
Formerly known as PressDisplay, PressReader provides current online access to 7,000+ full-color, full-page newspapers and magazines from around the world in over 60 languages. Use with a web browser or download the mobile app.
ProQuest International Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Provides one of the largest collections of news from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full text access to major American and international newspapers.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney: 1757-1817.
World News Connection Archive
WNC provides unfiltered foreign press dispatches, translated into English. They are from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) and cover 1995 to 2013. Please also see "FBIS Full Text, 1974-1996," which provides the full text of Daily Reports from Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Caribbean, Middle East/near East, North America, South America. Dates of Coverage: 1995-2013.

African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922
More than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features English and foreign-language titles.
African Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1925
Expanding the coverage found in African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922, with 40 additional African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925.

Jerusalem Post, 1950-present. Previous titles: The Palestine Post, 1933-1950; Palestine Bulletin, 1932-1933.

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
1870-2021, predominantly in Arabic, but a few papers in English and French. From EastView, Stanford Libraries, Hoover Institution Library and Archives.

Rand Daily Mail (1940-1985)
A digital archive of this Johannesburg, South Africa newspaper.

Chinese Newspapers Collection
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Korea Times, 1956-2016
Full text.
Moscow News Digital Archive
The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). To understand the political context of the Moscow News, please see this page.
South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Dates of Coverage: 1864-1922.

South China Morning Post (1903-1941)
Based in Hong Kong.
Southeast Asian Newspapers
"The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries."
The Times of India, 1861-present

British Library Newspapers
A wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Financial Times (FT.com)
Full text of the Financial Times website, 1994 - present.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016
Full text.
Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
Full text coverage of The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003).
The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. The complete archive of this landmark publication is an essential witness to the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television.
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016
The Daily Telegraph was launched in 1855, and within 10 years was able to claim it had 'the largest circulation in the world', boasting world-famous writers such as George Augustus Sala. For more than 150 years it has shaped and recorded the history and democratic values of the United Kingdom. The Sunday Telegraph was launched as a sister paper in 1961, and The Telegraph Historical Archive provides users with access to both the daily and Sunday editions.
Times (London) Archive, 1785 to 2019
Full text.

The Official index to the Times
Index only, not full text. Years of coverage: 1956.
Index to the Times
Index only, not full text. Years of coverage: 1957-1972.
The Times index
Index only, not full text. Years of coverage: 1973-2013

Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922
More than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere: 1805-1922.

These databases include a significant number of items from foreign-language media that have been translated into English.

Access World News
Current and historical international, national, and regional news.

FBIS Full Text, 1941 - 1996
Full text of Daily Reports from the CIA's Foreign Broadcast Information Service, including speeches, broadcasts, news articles from countries in Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Caribbean, Middle East/near East, North America, South America. Translated into English by the CIA: 1941-1996.
JPRS Reports
Socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and military issues and events, translated into English, with an emphasis on communist and developing countries. Produced by the Joint Publications Research Services, a unit of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA): 1957 – 1995.
Nexis Uni
BBC Monitoring: International Reports, 1979-present, includes translations of news reports from other languages.

Pravda (Moscow, Russia)
Call Number: Main Micro
1970-1991. A part of this has been translated into English.

Pravda Archive, Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives, 1959-1996
"Articles published by Pravda during the Cold War and the years immediately following, from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA."

World News Connection Archive
WNC provides unfiltered foreign press dispatches, translated into English. They are from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) and cover 1995 to 2013. Please also see "FBIS Full Text, 1974-1996," which provides the full text of Daily Reports from Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Caribbean, Middle East/near East, North America, South America. Dates of Coverage: 1995-2013.