Skip to Main Content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

News & Newspapers: Special newspapers

Japanese American internment camp news

About Newspapers in camp with links to some papers, Densho Encyclopedia

Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971, includes some camp newspapers. To find them, choose Browse Publications, then sort by location or date range.

Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946, Library of Congress
"Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps. They include articles written in English and Japanese, typed, handwritten and drawn. They advertise community events, provide logistical information about the camps and relocation, report on news from the community, and include editorials."

Japanese camp papers.
Available from Bates College.
"Contains a variety of newsletters and newspapers published from 1942 to 1945 in camps in various locations by interned Japanese Americans."

Japanese American WWII Internment Camp newspapers, Poston Chronicle, which was the main newspaper of the Poston, Arizona camp. California State University, San Bernardino.

Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946 : field basic documentation located at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. Location of guide indicated in CBBcat record. Contains newsletters, press releases, etc. from assembly centers and internment camps.

Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA), which "contains thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment, including: personal diaries, letters, photographs, and drawings; US War Relocation Authority materials, including camp newsletters, final reports, photographs, and other documents relating to the day-to-day administration of the camps; and personal histories documenting the lives of the people who lived in the camps, as well as of the administrators who created and worked there".

Behind Barbed Wire: Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, Library of Congress Story Map

Other special newspapers

Military

Stars and Stripes, current news.
Via Ancestry Library, including:

  • Stars and Stripes Newspaper, WWI Edition, 1918-1919
  • Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Europe, Mediterranean, and North Africa Editions, 1942-1964
  • Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Pacific Editions, 1945-1963

"The 'Stars and Stripes' newspaper began during the Civil War. It appeared during World War I and was re-established during World War II by President Roosevelt to boost troop morale. The newspaper was printed specifically for the armed forces and reported on the progress of the war, activities of the U.S. troops, and news from the home front (including sports, comics, and editorials). Different editions of the paper were printed for the different theaters of operation. Most of the editions began as weekly papers and later turned into dailies. By the end of the war, 30 different editions had been published in Europe, North Africa, and Asia."

Accessible Archives

  • America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers, mid-1910s through mid-1920s
  • America and World War I, American Military Camp Newspapers, Part II: 1917-1919

The AMAROC News: America’s Occupation of the Rhineland, 1919-1923, "The AMAROC News was a daily American military newspaper that appeared in Coblenz from 1919 through 1923. The name of the newspaper is made up of the initials of the AMerican ARmy of OCcupation and is synonymous with the American occupation troops in the Rhineland after the World War I. The newspaper reached a circulation of up to 60,000 daily editions and was read by American soldiers and to a lesser extent by the civilian population, throughout the Rhineland occupation zone."

Alternative press

The Boston Phoenix, 1973-2013, via Internet Archive.

Hate in America: White nationalism and the press in the 1920s
"The Hate in America collection includes papers promoting as well as those opposing white nationalism. It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations."

Independent Voices, 1950-, "an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."

Other

American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside

Stateline, PEW, "provides daily reporting and analysis on trends in state policy"

The Woman’s Tribune, "with its motto in the masthead: “Equality Before The Law”, was launched by Clara Bewick Colby, from her home in Beatrice, Nebraska, in August 1883. For the next year, it was the official publication of the Nebraska Woman Suffrage Association. The Tribune and its publisher – also editor, typesetter, and correspondent — would become one of America’s most outspoken proponents of Women’s Suffrage and political rights." Via Accessible Archives.

Historical Newspapers, Ancestry Library

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Report a Problem