Research Guides: News & Newspapers: Foreign Language

Foreign language, published abroad

These databases include at least one newspaper published abroad that is not written in English.

Multiple Languages

Access World News
Current and historical international, national, and regional news.

Afghan Central Press
Anīs (انیس, Companion), Hewād (هیواد, Homeland), Iṣlāḥ (اصلاح, Reform)

African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922
More than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features English and foreign-language titles.
African Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1925
Expanding the coverage found in African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922, with 40 additional African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925.
British Library Newspapers
A wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Google News Archive
Searchable database of scanned newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1700s-Present, depending on newspaper.
Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922
More than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere: 1805-1922.
Nexis Uni
Worldwide newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade journals. Archives of state and federal case law, statutes and regulations.
Press Reader
Formerly known as PressDisplay, PressReader provides current online access to 7,000+ full-color, full-page newspapers and magazines from around the world in over 60 languages. Use with a web browser or download the mobile app.
ProQuest International Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Provides one of the largest collections of news from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney: 1757-1817.
South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Dates of Coverage: 1864-1922.

Southeast Asian Newspapers
"The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries."

Arabic

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
1870-2021, predominantly in Arabic, but a few papers in English and French. From EastView, Stanford Libraries, Hoover Institution Library and Archives.

Chinese

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers, 1911-1949
A collection of key Chinese-language newspapers published in China during its tumultuous transition from imperial rule to the establishment of the People’s Republic of China, 1911-1949.

Russian

Imperial Russian Newspapers
"Comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. The collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
The collection also includes two e-book editions (full-text searchable) of pertinent reference books: an in-depth bibliographic record of all known newspapers published in Imperial Russia (over 10 key bibliographies) and a unique collection of dozens of contemporaneous (mostly nineteenth century) reference works offering detailed subject bibliographies of the articles appearing in the specific newspapers of the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection."

Pravda (Moscow, Russia)
Call Number: Main Micro
1970-1991. A part of this has been translated into English.

Pravda Digital Archive, 1912 to 1917

Spanish

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
1807-1935 (a few later issues), in Spanish. From EastView, Stanford Libraries, Hoover Institution Library and Archives.

Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922
More than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere: 1805-1922.

Foreign language, published in U.S.

These databases include at least one newspaper published in the United States or in colonial America that is not written in English.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present as well as select digitized newspaper page in PDF format: 1836-1922.

Digitized Swedish-American Newspapers, Minnesota Historical Society.
"28 different Swedish American newspaper titles published across the United States between 1859 and 2007."

Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
Features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states—including many rare 19th-century titles.
Ethnic Newswatch
National and regional ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals, updated daily: 1973-Present.
Google News Archive
Searchable database of scanned newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1700s-Present, depending on newspaper.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Dates of Coverage: 1808-1980.
Nineteenth-century U.S. Newspapers
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities.