Research Guides: U.S. Government: Presidency

Reference Sources

A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government
Main Ref JK9 .H57 1998

Guide to the Presidency
Main Ref JK 516 C57 1996

The Oxford handbook of The American Presidency (online)

Vice Presidents of the United States, 1789–1993, 1996, S. Doc. 104-26

Cabinet officers, 1789 to 2019, in Senate Manual, 2000, pp. 725 - 739.

A series of reports titled Reports to Be Made to Congress, or, historically, A List of Reports to be Made to Congress, containing a "list of reports which it is the duty of any officer or department to make to Congress", prepared by the Clerk, House of Representatives. The series began at least by 1836. 2020 issue, H.Doc. 116-85. For previous issues, search govinfo or U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Directories

Federal Staff Directory
Main Ref JK 723 .E9F44

Biographical Directory of the United States Executive Branch, 1774-1989.
E176 .U575 2003

Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature

How to research the presidency
Main Libr JK516 .M37 1996
Main Ref JK516 .M37 1996

The American Presidency: A Bibliography.
Main Ref Z 1249 P7 M357 1987

American Presidents: A Bibliography
Main Ref Z 1249 P7 M36 1987

The Presidency: a Research Guide
Main Ref Z 1249 P7 G63 1985

Primary Sources

Presidential Documents
Online finding tool for publications of
the Executive Office of the President.

The White House

Budget of the United States Government
The President's budget proposal for the next fiscal year. Also contains outline of actual expenditures for the previous year.

FRASER (1923-present; online)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1923-1994; online) Hint: For 1923-1935, search on "budget for the service of the fiscal year"; for 1936-1994, search on "budget of the United States government".
Govt Doc Pr 34.107 (1961; print)
Govt Doc PrEx 2.8: - PrEx 2.8/12: (1967-present except 2009; print, online)
search or browse in govinfo, 1996-present
Govt Doc Y 1.1/7:110-84 (2009; print)

Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
Govt Ref AE 2.113 1945-1989 (print); Online, 1945-1989
A codification (grouping by subject) and index of executive orders from 1945-1989.

Federal Register
Code of Federal Regulations
The Federal Register reports executive orders and proposed executive agency regulations. The CFR codifies and publishes the final regulations. Title 3 of the CFR is an annual print compilation of Executive Orders.

A compilation of the messages and papers of the presidents (George Washington to Woodrow Wilson)
Main Ref J81 . B96G

The Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt
Main Libr E806 .R749

Public Papers of the Presidents (Herbert Hoover through Obama, 2016-2017, Book II, except FDR. Ceased; use Compilation of Presidential Documents for more recent materials.)
Govt Ref AE 2.114 ; Govt Index AE 2.114 ;
search or browse in govinfo, 1929-1932, 1945-present
Each president's public speeches, proclamations and sometimes executive orders are collected and published together in an annual volume, arranged chronologically. Volumes for some presidents are also available through their libraries: Herbert Hoover, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush. Note: The current Compilation of Presidential Documents is more up-to-date than Public Papers of the Presidents. In earlier years, the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents included more documents than the PPP.

Compilation of Presidential Documents
search or browse in govinfo, 1993-present
--or in--
Academic Search Complete 1995-
Each week the Government Publishing Office publishes in this database the President's public speeches, press conferences, proclamations, etc. from the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents. These are later compiled in the volumes of the Public Papers of the Presidents. Also include Executive Orders. Note: The current Compilation of Presidential Documents is more up-to-date than Public Papers of the Presidents. In earlier years, the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents included more documents than the PPP.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (online, 1817-1994)
Govt Y 1.1/2: - Y 1.1/8: (print, 1817-present with gaps)
Large series of congressional reports on legislation, treaties, messages from the president. In the 19th century, contains legislative materials plus many executive agency reports, such as reports on expeditions, fisheries, commerce, defense, etc. American State Papers contain similar information for 1789-1837.

Historical Presidential Information

FYI PRESIDENTIAL TERMS

The American Presidency Project
An amazing archive-- party platforms beginning in 1840, inaugural addresses since 1789, public papers since 1789, signing statements, State of the Union addresses, Executive Orders, Proclamations, and much more. (Note: Executive Orders from before 1970 that have subsequently been changed (e.g., superseded, amended, etc.) may not appear in their original form.)

Famous Presidential Speeches

New York Times Archive, 1851-2008
Full image of the New York Times.

Washington Post Archive (1877-1996)

Wall Street Journal Archive (1889-1995)

America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full text of many newspapers of this era.

More newspapers

American Broadsides and Ephemera
Digitized images of campaign poster and handbills, signs, poems, etc., 1760-1900.

American Memory
Digitized images and texts from the Library of Congress.

Reports of U.S. presidential commissions and other advisory bodies : a bibliographic listing (online)
Main Ref KF5125.A1 B66 2017 (print)

Presidential papers, presidential libraries, WH websites, oral histories

#	President	Selected collections of presidential papers, libraries, WH websites, oral histories
1	George Washington 1789-1797	The Papers of George Washington, University of Virginia George Washington Papers, Library of Congress Subject search in Compass on: Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Archives Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Correspondence Founders Online, National Archives. "George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 181,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects." Also see Early Access, "'early versions' of transcribed documents that have not yet been fully annotated and published by the editors". Rotunda Founders Early Access. Free pre-publication access to "letters and other papers penned by important figures such as James Madison, John Adams, George Washington and Thomas Jefferson."
2	John Adams 1797-1801	Adams Family Papers, Massachusetts Historical Society. "material relating to John Adams (1735-1826), Abigail Adams (1744-1818), and their descendants. [...] The collection includes papers relating to John Quincy Adams (1767-1848), Louisa Catherine Adams (1775-1852), Charles Francis Adams (1807-1886), Charles Francis Adams II (1835-1915), and Henry Adams (1838-1918) and includes a large file of incoming correspondence from hundreds of major and minor figures in America and Europe." Subject search in Compass on: Adams, John, 1735-1826 -- Correspondence Founders Online, National Archives. "George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 181,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects." Also see Early Access, "'early versions' of transcribed documents that have not yet been fully annotated and published by the editors". Rotunda Founders Early Access. Free pre-publication access to "letters and other papers penned by important figures such as James Madison, John Adams, George Washington and Thomas Jefferson."
3	Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809	Thomas Jefferson Papers, 1606 to 1827, Library of Congress Coolidge Collection of Thomas Jefferson Manuscripts, Massachusetts Historical Society. "The largest collection of private papers kept by the third president of the United States" Subject search in Compass on: Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 -- Archives Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 -- Correspondence Founders Online, National Archives. "George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 181,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects." Also see Early Access, "'early versions' of transcribed documents that have not yet been fully annotated and published by the editors". Rotunda Founders Early Access. Free pre-publication access to "letters and other papers penned by important figures such as James Madison, John Adams, George Washington and Thomas Jefferson."
4	James Madison 1809-1817	James Madison Papers, 1723 to 1859, Library of Congress Subject search in Compass on: Madison, James, 1751-1836 -- Archives Madison, James, 1751-1836 -- Correspondence Founders Online, National Archives. "George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 181,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects." Also see Early Access, "'early versions' of transcribed documents that have not yet been fully annotated and published by the editors". Rotunda Founders Early Access. Free pre-publication access to "letters and other papers penned by important figures such as James Madison, John Adams, George Washington and Thomas Jefferson."
5	James Monroe 1817-1825	James Monroe Papers, Library of Congress
6	John Quincy Adams 1825-1829	Adams Family Papers, Massachusetts Historical Society. "material relating to John Adams (1735-1826), Abigail Adams (1744-1818), and their descendants. [...] The collection includes papers relating to John Quincy Adams (1767-1848), Louisa Catherine Adams (1775-1852), Charles Francis Adams (1807-1886), Charles Francis Adams II (1835-1915), and Henry Adams (1838-1918) and includes a large file of incoming correspondence from hundreds of major and minor figures in America and Europe."
7	Andrew Jackson 1829-1837	Andrew Jackson Papers, Library of Congress The Papers of Andrew Jackson, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
8	Martin Van Buren 1837-1841	Martin Van Buren Papers, 1787 to 1910, Library of Congress
9	William Henry Harrison 1841	William Henry Harrison Papers, Library of Congress
10	John Tyler 1841-1845	John Tyler Papers, Library of Congress
11	James K. Polk 1845-1849	James K. Polk Papers, Library of Congress The James K. Polk Project, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
12	Zachary Taylor 1849-1850	Zachary Taylor Papers, Library of Congress
13	Millard Fillmore 1850-1853	Millard Fillmore Papers, Library of Congress
14	Franklin Pierce 1853-1857	Franklin Pierce Papers, Library of Congress
15	James Buchanan 1857-1861	James Buchanan and Harriet Lane Johnston Papers, Library of Congress
16	Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865	Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress, Library of Congress Papers of Abraham Lincoln Digital Library, Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library
17	Andrew Johnson 1865-1869	Andrew Johnson Papers, Library of Congress
18	Ulysses S. Grant 1869-1877	Ulysses S. Grant Papers, Library of Congress
19	Rutherford B. Hayes 1877-1881
20	James Garfield 1881-1881	James A. Garfield Papers, Library of Congress
21	Chester A. Arthur 1881-1885	Chester Alan Arthur Papers, Library of Congress
22	Grover Cleveland 1885-1889	Grover Cleveland Papers, Library of Congress
23	Benjamin Harrison 1889-1893	Benjamin Harrison Papers, Library of Congress
24	Grover Cleveland 1893-1897	Grover Cleveland Papers, Library of Congress
25	William McKinley 1897-1901	William McKinley Papers, Library of Congress
26	Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1909	Theodore Roosevelt Papers, Library of Congress
27	William H. Taft 1909-1913	William H. Taft Papers, Library of Congress
28	Woodrow Wilson 1913-1921	Woodrow Wilson Papers, Library of Congress
29	Warren G. Harding 1921-1923
30	Calvin Coolidge 1923-1929	Calvin Coolidge Papers, Library of Congress
31	Herbert C. Hoover 1929-1933	Library ♦ Research
32	Franklin D. Roosevelt 1933-1945	Library ♦ Research
33	Harry S. Truman 1945-1953	Library ♦ Research Oral History Interviews, Truman Library
34	Dwight D. Eisenhower 1953-1961	Library Oral histories, Eisenhower Library Oral History Interviews Portal, Columbia Center for Oral History
35	John F. Kennedy 1961-1963	Library ♦ Research Oral History Collections, Kennedy Library
36	Lyndon B. Johnson 1963-1969	Library ♦ Research Oral histories , Johnson Library
37	Richard M. Nixon 1969-1974	Library ♦ Research Oral histories, Nixon Library
38	Gerald R. Ford 1974-1977	Library and Museum ♦ Library Gerald R. Ford Oral History Project, Ford Library
39	Jimmy Carter 1977-1981	Library ♦ Research Oral histories, Carter Library Jimmy Carter Oral History, University of Virginia, Miller Center
40	Ronald W. Reagan 1981-1989	Library ♦ Research Ronald Reagan Oral History, University of Virginia, Miller Center
41	George Herbert Walker Bush 1989-1993	Library ♦ Research George H.W. Bush Oral History, University of Virginia, Miller Center
42	William J. Clinton 1993-2001	Library ♦ Research Archived WH website Bill Clinton Presidential History Project, University of Virginia, Miller Center
43	George Walker Bush 2001-2009	Library ♦ Research Archived WH website ♦ End of Term Web Archive George W. Bush Oral History, University of Virginia, Miller Center
44	Barack H. Obama 2009-2017	Library Archived WH website ♦ End of Term Web Archive
45	Donald J. Trump 2017-2021	Library ♦ Research Archived WH website ♦ via Wayback Machine Trump Twitter Archive V2 Factbase (public statements and recordings)
46	Joseph R. Biden, Jr. 2021-	White House website Factbase (public statements and recordings)

Presidential Libraries, National Archives and Records Administration

For archived Executive Branch department websites, use the Wayback Machine from the Internet Archive.

End of Term Web Archive, a collaborative effort to harvest "the Federal Government domains (.gov, .mil, .org, etc.)" at the end of one administration and "to document changes in the federal government websites as agencies transitioned" to the next.

American Presidency Project

Digital Collections on Government, Law & Politics, including some presidential papers, from the Library of Congress.

Vice Presidential Records. Information from the National Archives.

Presidential Oral Histories, University of Virginia, Miller Center

White House Transition Project. About

Oral Histories, C-SPAN

In Compass, search on: [your topic] AND ("oral histor*" OR archives OR correspondence)
For example: nixon AND ("oral histor*" OR archives OR correspondence)

Congressional oral histories

Please ask about other sources of presidential papers.

About

"'Mutilated by rats,' burned, trashed: 200 years of presidential papers lost," Ronald G. Shafer, Washington Post, 27 August 2022.

U.S. Government: Presidency