Use a web archive to access previous versions of web pages or other materials that were once on the web.
Wayback Machine, Internet Archive. Best Bet
Holds billions of webpages from millions of websites.
Archive-It
Hosts content from a variety of organizations worldwide.
Library of Congress Web Archives, 2000-present.
"Thousands of sites have been preserved in a variety [of] event and thematic Web archives, selected by subject specialists." Collections include the United States Congressional, Public Policy Topics, United States Elections, Legal Blawgs, Iraq War 2003, September 11, 2001, Webcomics, Brazil Cordel Literature, Visual Image, Indonesian General Election 2009 web archives, and many more.
Library of Congress Web Archives, 2000-present.
"Thousands of sites have been preserved in a variety [of] event and thematic Web archives, selected by subject specialists." Collections include the United States Congressional, Public Policy Topics, United States Elections, Legal Blawgs, Iraq War 2003, September 11, 2001, Webcomics, Brazil Cordel Literature, Visual Image, Indonesian General Election 2009 web archives, and many more.
Federal Depository Library Program Web Archive, Government Publishing Office.
"The FDLP Web Archive provides point in time captures of U.S. Federal agency websites, while preserving the functionality of the site to the extent possible. The aim is to provide permanent public access to Federal Agency Web content. GPO harvests and archives the websites with Archive-It, a subscription-based Web harvesting and archiving service offered by the Internet Archive."
End of Term Web Archive, 2008-present.
"Captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. [...] Contains federal government websites (.gov, .mil, etc) in the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches of the government. Websites that were at risk of changing (i.e., whitehouse.gov) or disappearing altogether during government transitions were captured. Local or state government websites, or any other site not part of the federal government domain were out of scope."
Congressional Web Harvest, National Archives and Records Administration, 2006 (109th Congress)-present.
"As the repository of the official records of Congress, the Center for Legislative Archives conducts a web harvest of all congressional websites at the end of each Congress."
time travel
Find prior versions of web pages (called "Mementos" in this service) in: "archive.today, Archive-It, Arquivo.pt: the Portuguese Web Archive, Bibliotheca Alexandrina Web Archive, DBpedia archive, DBpedia Triple Pattern Fragments archive, Canadian Government Web Archive, Croatian Web Archive, Estonian Web Archive, Icelandic web archive, Internet Archive, Library of Congress Web Archive, NARA Web Archive, National Library of Ireland Web Archive, perma.cc, PRONI Web Archive, Slovenian Web Archive, Stanford Web Archive, UK Government Web Archive, UK Parliament's Web Archive, UK Web Archive, Web Archive Singapore, WebCite, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek", etc. ♦ Memento Time Travel extension for Chrome
