Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Statistical Data: Elections

Sources of statistical data.

Sources for Federal Election Results

Title & location Years Results for... Source Races
A New Nation Votes 1787-1826 varies American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives; compiled by Philip J. Lampi. "The bulk of the election data came from contemporary sources such as newspapers and original election ballots. Other sources include County histories that were published in the 19th century." Variety of federal, state, and local elections
United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997,
Main Ref JK1967 .D77 1998
1788-1997 HR: district, S: state McFarland & Co. Federal election results for general elections and special elections for the House and Senate.
CQ Voting and Elections Collection Best Bet Varies, 1789- Down to state, county, HR: district See Sources. General and primary election results for President, House,  Senate, and Governor. See Election Returns Scope.
Presidential Elections Since 1789,
Main Ref JK 524 C66
1789-1972 (general election)
1912-1972 (primary)
State CQ Press General election and primary election results for President.
Presidential Elections Data 1789-present State; occasionally others The American Presidency Project General election results for President.
Election Data 1912-present   Social Explorer from Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections. President, House, Senate, Governor.
Election Statistics 1920- State; HR: district U.S. House of Representatives, Office of the Clerk General election results for the House, Senate, and Presidential Electors published in Statistics of the Presidential and Congressional Election and Statistics of the Congressional Election
America Votes,
Main Ref JK1967 .A8
1956- State, county; HR: district CQ Press General election results for President, House, Senate, Governor. Summary results for primary elections.
America at the polls, 1960-2000 John F. Kennedy to George W. Bush: a handbook of American presidential election statistics,
Main Libr JK524 .M33 2001
1960-2000 State, county CQ Press General election results for President. Summary results for primary elections.
America at the polls 2: a handbook of American presidential election statistics, 1968-1984,
Main Ref JK524 .S22 1988
1968-1984 State, county CQ Press General election results for President.
USA Counties 1980-2008 U.S., state, county CQ Press via Census Bureau President. Total and by party. Subject to copyright. Excel file.
Federal Elections 1982- State; HR: district Federal Election Commission Official, certified federal election results for the primary, runoff and general election results for President, House, Senate.
Precinct-Level Election Data 2002-2012 Precinct Election Data Archive, Harvard University President, House, Senate, Governor, other state races (depending on the state and election)
United States Historical Election Returns Series varies State, county ICPSR President, House, Senate, Governor. Files require some expertise to use.

 

Other Sources

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections Best Bet
U.S. election data that provides tables, graphs, and maps for presidential (1789-present), senatorial (1990+), and gubernatorial (1990+) elections.

OpenElections

MIT Election Data + Science Lab

LEAP Elections Data
"The LEAP database provides unparalleled opportunities for learning about local elections and the political, racial and socio-demographic features of American cities." Data is not available for all geographical areas. One must contact the researchers to request the data.

Research and data from the U.S. Election Assistance Commission

Vital Statistics on American Politics
Main Ref JK 274 .S74 1988
Elections & political parties; campaign finance; PACs; public opinion and more

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
Main Ref JK1967 .C662 2001

The Pursuit of the White House: A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics and
History

Main Ref JK 524 T44 1987

A Statistical History of the American Electorate
Main Ref JK1967 .R87 2001

Statistical History of the American Presidential Elections, 1789-1960
Main Ref JK1967 .P4 1963
Articles and tables on the role of parties

More Information on How to Find Elections Data

U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide, Library of Congress
"online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections"

Elections Data, from University of Pennsylvania

Elections and Voting Data Guide, from Princeton University

List of Sources for the CQ Voting and Elections Collection.

Election Administration by the Numbers: An Analysis of Available Datasets and How to Use Them, The Pew Charitable Trusts, The Pew Center on the States.

For more books on electoral statistics, try this subject heading in the library's catalog:
Elections -- United States

About

Major sources for federal election results are listed to the left.

For U.S. federal election statistics, the Statistical Abstract of the United States (section 7) is another great place to start looking. Even if the data that you want are not there, look at the footnotes for relevant tables and the introduction to section 7 for pointers to more comprehensive sources. Previous editions, 1878-, are also available.

For Maine, depending on the election, Election Results may provide the results of local and State of Maine races, as well as races for Maine federal offices, 2008-.

For U.S. state and local election statistics, consult these guides:

Please contact us if you would like assistance with data!

Registration and Voting

Voting and Registration in the Election of-, U.S. Census Bureau (online)
Govt C 3.186/3: (print)
Data and charts on the demographics of voting, provided each election year from the Census's Current Population Survey; state rankings and tables included.

Vital Statistics on American Politics
Main Ref JK 274 .S74 1988
Elections & political parties; campaign finance; PACs; public opinion and more

A Statistical History of the American Electorate
Main Ref JK1967 .R87 2001

Campaign Financing

Federal Election Commission
Financial reports of campaign contributions at all levels of Federal Government.

Campaign Finance Information Center
"The Campaign Finance Information Center is dedicated to helping journalists follow the campaign money trail -- on the national, state and local levels." Note: As of August 2020, this website was down.

FollowTheMoney.org, National Institute on Money in State Politics
Includes state-level candidates in the primary and general elections.

Contact

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem