Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Statistical Data: Trade

Sources of statistical data.

United States Trade Statistics

USA Trade Online
U.S. Import and Export Merchandise trade statistics

Foreign Trade Division - Census Bureau
Monthly trade press releases; top trading partners; trade statistics by various commodity classification and country breakdowns, including balance of trade; state export data; historical series back to 1960; trade regulations.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Trade statistics for business services.

TradeStats Express (U.S. International Trade Administration)
(1989- )
Customized outputs of national and state data

Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb (U.S. International Trade Commission)
Customized trade data reports. Requires free registration.

FAS Online (U.S. Foreign Agricultural Service)
(Dates of coverage vary)
Imports and exports agricultural trade data at the national and state levels.

U.S. Imports of Merchandise
Govt Doc C 3.278/2: (Monthly; Library has 2002- )
CD-ROM/DVD product contains the entire Foreign Trade Division database of imports data; based on the Harmonized Tariff Classification system; monthly and year-to-date statistics.

U.S. Imports History
Govt Doc C 3.278/2: (Annual; Library has 1989- )
Cumulates U.S. Imports of Merchandise

U.S. Exports of Merchandise
Govt Doc C 3.278/3: (Monthly; Library has 2001- )
CD-ROM/DVD product contains the entire Foreign Trade Division database of exports data; based on the Harmonized Tariff Classification system; monthly and year-to-date statistics.

U.S. Exports History
Govt Doc C 3.278/3: (Annual; Library has 1989- )
Cumulates U.S. Exports of Merchandise

State-level Trade Statistics

Maine International Trade Center
Although mostly in the business of providing technical assistance and trade counseling, there are a number of useful reports and statistics for Maine-related trade data.

TradeStats Express (International Trade Administration)
1999-
Interactive database; contains exports from states to countries and regions.

Foreign Trade Division - Census Bureau
State exports by top 25 countries (2001- ); state exports by top 25 commodities (1999- )

Foreign Agricultural Service
(Dates of coverage vary)
Imports and exports agricultural trade data at the national and state levels.

International Trade Statistics

Europa World Yearbook (online version has current information only)
Main Libr JN1.E85 (Annual; Library has 1963-1966,1971,1975-1988)
Main Ref. JN1.E852 (Annual; Library has 1989- )
Quick source for external trade, trading partners, and commodity information.

OECD.Stat
Statistics for OECD member countries and selected non-members. Subjects covered include: agriculture; environment; education, development; finance; health; labor, national accounts; science, demography.

U.N. Comtrade database 
Annual (1960's- ) international trade statistics provided by individual countries, with detail by commodities and trading partners.

Statistics Database (World Trade Organization)
The Trade Profiles section provides a summary of the structural trade situation and trade policy measures of members, observers and other selected economies. The Time Series section is a searchable database on international trade in merchandise and commercial services - no country to country data.

International Trade Statistics (World Trade Organization)
(Dates of coverage vary)
"Some 250 tables and charts depict trade developments from various perspectives and provide a number of long-term time series. Major trade developments are summarized and discussed in the first part of the report under Overview. Detailed trade statistics are provided in Appendix tables."

Direction of Trade Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
For 1980 - present data
For 1948-1980 use the networked CD-ROM
Value of merchandise exports and imports by trade partners.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook (U.N.)
Main Ref. HF91.U473 (Annual; Library has 1950- )
Vol. 1 contains data arranged by country for: imports and exports by principal countries and regions; imports and exports by principal commodities by SITC code. Vol. 2 contains imports and exports trade data arranged by commodity.

World Trade Organization
Provides a wide range of freely available economic data and analysis.  It covers member states, observers, and selected key economies in four major profiles: trade, tariffs, services, and time series of international trade.  A number of databases and .pdf publications are available; to sort things out consult this summary page.

World Integrated Trade Solution.
"WITS TradeStat Database is designed with the purpose of providing the latest international merchandise and commercial services trade data and overview of country and region's imports and exports, tariff and non-tariff measures." About

Regional Trade Statistics

FTAA Hemispheric Database (Inter-American Development Bank)
Tariff and trade statistics data for the Americas

Numbers for Development (Institute for the Integration of Latin America and the Caribbean)
Imports and exports data for 30 countries in the Americas

Oxford Latin American Economic History Database
Export and import data as well as other demographic, financial, and economic indicators.

European Union
-Eurostat (statistics)

Trade and Economic Statistics
A comprehensive listing of regional trade statistics Web sites around the globe. From The Federation of International Trade Associations.

About

Major sources are listed to the left.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States (section 28 on Foreign Commerce and Aid) is another great place to start looking. Even if the data that you want are not there, look at the footnotes for relevant tables and the introduction to section 28 for pointers to more comprehensive sources. Previous editions, 1878-, are also available.

For historical data, the Statistical Abstract can be supplemented by Historical Statistics of the United States.

Please contact us if you would like assistance with data!

Contact

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem