Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Statistical Data: International Aid

Sources of statistical data.

Statistical Sources

ProQuest Statistical Insight
100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Full text or web links provided for some citations.

Development, Council on Foreign Relations
"Includes news, data, background and history, government and international initiatives, and more resources on issues in development, aid, standards of living, and governance." See also their Polls and Public Opinion.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants, USAID
"This website provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world. It is a companion to the annual report to Congress, U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants, Obligations and Loan Authorizations—commonly known as the Greenbook."

Foreign Assistance Data, foreignassistance.gov
"ForeignAssistance.gov was created in response to the principles of the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness and President Obama’s Open Government Initiative. The goal of ForeignAssistance.gov is to enable a wide variety of stakeholders, including U.S. citizens, civil society organizations, the Congress, U.S. Government agencies, donors, and partner country governments, to examine, research, and track U.S. Government foreign assistance investments in an accessible and easy-to-understand format." "The site currently contains budget planning, obligation, spent, and transaction data for U.S. Government agencies with larger foreign assistance portfolios."

AidData, USAID (United States Agency for International Development), Development Gateway, College of William and Mary, Brigham Young University
"AidData collects, curates, and publishes data on more than $5.5 trillion dollars in development finance from 90 bilateral and multilateral agencies at the project level. All of this information is available in our searchable database of more than one million development finance activities."

Aid statistics and International Development Statistics (IDS) online databases, OECD (The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
"The International Development Statistics (IDS) online databases cover bilateral, multilateral and private donors’ aid (ODA) and other resource flows to developing countries."

World Development Indicators and International Debt Statistics, World Bank
Development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
International Debt Statistics "focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies."

World DataBank, World Bank
"DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them."

Data, Human Development Indicators and Thematic Tables from the Human Development Report, (UNDP) United Nations Development Programme

Statistics & Operational Data, UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees)

UNdata, United Nations Statistics Division

International Financial Statistics Online, IMF (International Monetary Fund)
International Financial Statistics is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) "The goal of HDX is to make humanitarian data easy to find and use for analysis. [...] We define humanitarian data as: 1) data about the context in which a humanitarian crisis is occurring (e.g., baseline/development data, damage assessments, geospatial data); 2) data about the people affected by the crisis and their needs; and 3) data about the response by organisations and people seeking to help those who need assistance."

International Historical Statistics, 1750-
Worldwide coverage of statistics, including population & vital statistics, labor, agriculture, industry, trade, transport & communications, agriculture, education, and national accounts.

Also check the websites, annual reports, and other publications of international governmental organizations or non-governmental organizations.

About

Major sources are listed to the left.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States (section 18) is another great place to start looking. Even if the data that you want are not there, look at the footnotes for relevant tables and the introduction to section 28 for pointers to more comprehensive sources. Previous editions, 1878-, are also available.

For historical data, the Statistical Abstract can be supplemented by Historical Statistics of the United States.

Please contact us if you would like assistance with data!

Contact

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem